1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

32PF9986 - A New Problem

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Barrovian, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +56
    Finally took delivery of my 9986 yesterday. I love the set, but I think it's going back to John Lewis.
    Not only does it suffer from contrast 'humming' as detailed in other threads, but worse than that, the picture from all sources, i.e. DVD (RGB), Sky (RGB), VHS and analogue terrestrial is affected by a sort of vertical rolling shimmer. It's very noticeable, so much so that my wife noticed it the moment she sat in front of the set. A bit like heat haze ( and no, it's not above the fireplace )
    Has anyone else come across this? I'll probably get JL to exchange it, but if it's a known problem, I'll cut my losses and get a refund.
    I'm gutted as I was so looking forward to getting this set.

    Cheers
    John
     
  2. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've not heard about "vertical rolling shimmer" before - unless you have a faulty cable that is leaking signal from another source. Does it do it only when, say, Sky is swtiched on? Or is it all the time?
     
  3. Basil

    Basil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whilst I wouldn't rule out a fault, I tend to agree with Alan. Could the cables be wound around a mains cable, or maybe near an R.F. source (a video sender perhaps?)
    I recently solved a picture quality problem (a V. Faint blue/cold tinted picture) by changing cables for better quality ones - Do your cables have individualy shielded cores, or ar they overall shielded?
     
  4. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mention the cables John because I had a problem initially with a "leaky" Scart lead and occasionally I would get some interference (like a vague ghostly picture) from Sky when I was watching DVDs. I changed my cables around and the problem went. I wonder if you could to isolate it by turning off different sources to see if it goes away.
     
  5. Exirion

    Exirion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +6
    I bet this is interference. Do you use a cheap SCART cable? Those don't have shielded wires witin the cable so there is interference between the wires. I have exactly the same thing with my 9976 :) A better cable will probably solve this, so first try a better cable before returning the TV ;)
     
  6. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +56
    Hi Alan & Basil,
    Thanks for the replies. I've not had chance to check the cables, it's been 'Mother-in-Law Day' :)
    I'll try what you suggest and post back.
    cheers,
    John.
     
  7. Exirion

    Exirion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +6
    :boring:
     
  8. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I guess postings crossed in the ether...
     
  9. Exirion

    Exirion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +6
    You're right... And I shouldn't act like a whining kid due to a bad day :D
     
  10. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +56
    .. and thanks for your considered reply, Exirion! ;)
     
  11. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +56
    Well, I've done as suggested and disconnected everything except the mains lead and the aerial, and the flicker is still there. I therefore must suppose a fault with the TV.
     
  12. Camillo

    Camillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Actually, it's possible to get a ground loop even with just the mains and the aerial. It depends on if you have the aerial in the same ground as the mains. Altough it's probably not the case this time, you can easily test it.

    Use the DVD-player via RGB SCART only, and do not connect the aerial at all. Make sure you connect both the DVD player and the TV set to the same mains connection.
     
  13. lz1cam

    lz1cam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi JP,
    I guess you muat had another TV set before buying the LCD.
    Why don't you try the old one with the same configuration?
    Greetings
     
  14. Diamara

    Diamara
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this problem and found that I was getting interference from my Wi-Fi network. Moved the wireless access point away from the TV and the picture cleared up.
     
  15. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +56

    Thanks, Camillo. Tried it, but no luck I'm afraid. Interference is sill there.
    And Iz1cam, the set was a straight swapout replacing my old CRT. No problems before.
    JL delivering replacement on Saturday.

    Keep you posted.
    John.
     
  16. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +56
    JL delivered the replacement last Wednesday. As soon as the set was switched on, it was obvious that it's another 'Hummer'. The picture 'flicker' is still there, but now affects the entire screen, not just the left hand side as before (although I didn't make that clear in earlier posts). I tried to 'live' with those problems, but I find myself looking for them all the time, and that really spoils it for me. What's really done for the replacement though, is whilst watching a 2.35:1 ratio DVD at night on Friday, it became obvious that the backlight is uneven. The top right hand corner displays a visibly lighter patch than the rest of the screen, which projects towards the centre. Very distracting. So, I'm afraid, this one is going back as well. John Lewis cannot be faulted for their customer service, they're collecting the set next Saturday for a full refund. I love the set, but at the end of the day, I can't justify spending £2K on a set I know I'll never enjoy because of the flaws.

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...