320Gb Media Player (MCE) ATMT Hard Drive - £159.99.

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by hot-fuzz, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    i have seen Malpin advertising this :

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=99078&TabID=1&source=1&doy=20m12

    And it would seem at first that this could solve my problems of DVD playing.
    Basically i have loads of DVDs and get fed up with swapping them over, putting them back in their cases etc etc.
    If i loaded them all onto this Hard Drive and connect it to my TV directly i could play around 60 DVDs without changing one of them.

    So i have a few questions :

    1. Is this system a decent option as it connects directly to the TV
    2. Will the quality be any good
    3. Is that price any good or shall i just get a 500Gb SATA and load MCe onto it.

    Any experieces on this would be useful.
    Ta
     
  2. asherpat

    asherpat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Highlander1,

    what is option 2 you mention?
     
  3. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    Sorry mate, dont get what you're asking.

    :confused:
     
  4. asherpat

    asherpat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    What do you mean by "load MCe onto it"? Can you take a simple Hard Disk and turn it into a media player without the hardware for outputs and specialsied software/codecs or what have you?
     
  5. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    Highlander1, that's a pretty high price, unsuprisingly for our Maplin friends :)

    There are lots of examples of external hdd enclosures that run as media centres (http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=25387 as an example) and even some with optical. A google search will be your best option, and you'll note that the enclosures will generally support upto 500gb hdd that you fit yourself.

    I have been toying with the idea of getting one for a while, and have asked for advice here but not received any replies yet, so guess they're not too popular ! :) To be honest, I still remain undecided and as my PC is behind my TV, and likely to stay there, I think I'll just invest in a silent PSU.

    Will your PC be dedicated as a media server ? If so, there's Linux flavours out there that will fit the bill, although I run Windows and associated applications to serve my media. I prefer this, as many are being developed by the open source community or have plugins being developed for them, all for free and with great support due to the number of users.

    I would recommend GB-PVR personally. I used to use it for my PVR needs, but I now have TVDrive so don't need that functionality. However, it is still a great media server, skinnable, with loads of plugins and a great forum for support.

    Maybe give that a go and see how you get on ? Hope this helps :)
     
  6. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    All i wanted is a HDD with all the appropriate output (see maplins link) with MCE on it.


    Ta for that, i will keep looking. I just want something that will take my DVDs that i will eventually burn onto my PC and play them through the TV, nothing fancy.

    I have also seen this, which is network enabled, meaning i will bne able to burn them on my PC and send them wirelessly to the HDD on the TV whenever i need it :
    http://svp.co.uk/products-solo.php?pid=995

    BUT, it wont play ripped VOB or ISO files, so would need to convert my DVD every time i wanted to transfer it.
    Ta for the link, i iwll do some more hunting. As £45 for the unit and a 500GB HD from Ebay would be ALOT cheaper.

    :thumbsup:
     
  7. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    I have gone for this one, as it was recomended on the site and the aftersales support is good. It has everythign i want and for only £185 delivered with 500GB IDE Drive it is coming in the week.

    Nice One, will let you know how i get on.
     
  8. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    No problem, I look forward to hearing about it !

    Happy New Year :)
     
  9. absthechatter

    absthechatter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looks like just the sort of thing I am after (also far too lazy to change DVD's!!), not having much luck with my Google search though!! Any recommendations for one that outputs digital optical sound and component or VGA for picture. Would be nice if it could also handle High Def clips/films.

    Any examples/screenshots of the software these things use?

    Many thanks

    Abs
     
  10. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    Thats what i was after really, an optical out (though i think i am up to my max on my amp), but the ones i found were too expensive (£400 +) and were in the realms of a PC. I wanted something sub £200 that just played DVD's and so went for the Aria as i has good reviews all round, plus 500GB you cant argue. Cant really justify spending more than £200 on something that is only going to play DVD's.

    The aria one does have VGA output (but that is for my Xbox360) so going to use AV or S-Video.

    I will post some pics of the rear of it when i get it if you like ??

    :smashin:
     
  11. absthechatter

    absthechatter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes please, would love some pics. Wouldn't mind a pic of software too if you can manage.

    At the moment I have everything fed in to a video processor, i-scan HD+, and then up to my Panasonic Panel. I suppose it's a little lazy, just to keep my DVD collection on, but why not if you can!! With more High Def becoming available for download, it will be great for that also if it can handle it, better than havinf a noisy HTPC stuck on my rack....


    Many thanks

    Abs
     
  12. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
  13. Big blue

    Big blue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    SO....I'm really keen to know how you got on highlander1. Was the Aria any good?
     
  14. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    I ordered it Sunday and seeing as they arent open from 4pm Sunday and Monday was a Bank Holiday, it got posted today, so will get it tomorrow.

    Will give a review tomorrow sometime. I have just ripped over 250GB of DVDs today to put on it in preparation.
    :thumbsup:
     
  15. absthechatter

    absthechatter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    How are you ripping them Highlander, as in are you leaving as VOB files, are you compressing at all, are you putting them in their own little named folders etc?

    Many thanks

    Abs
     
  16. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    I got them all as VOB files as thats what the Aria plays. I use DVD Decrypter, DVD RIP and DVD Shrink. They are usually 6GB per film depending on the length.

    I have them all in folders at the moment. not sure how im going to put them on the Aria though.
     
  17. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    I'd be interested in seeing how the OS can be tweaked graphically, and to display covers etc
     
  18. Big blue

    Big blue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you get time Highlander1 - I am really interested in how these devices "present themselves on the TV screen" so to speak. Is there some form of "media list" produced or how is the content of the HDD presented? I am forming the opinion that I need something a "bit" more sophisticated - something with a small screen built into the HDD enclosure or, even better, something with a screen built into the remote controller.
     
  19. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    Had a few problems with the PC this mornign, so going to re-install XP now and will test after that.

    Got it all today and first impressions are great, its very small, and you get a load of cables with it.

    Will post about it when i get it going tonight

    :thumbsup:
     
  20. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    Well,

    I played around with the Aria Media Player all day yesterday and have just got back from the P.O as i have sent it back (costing me £10 :mad: ).

    I have sent it back simply for one reason....... FAT32. It just doesnt work with this kind of machine.
    After sending hours working out how to format the 500GB drive into FAT32 i then spent another 3 hours formatting it.

    Due to being FAT32 you cant load more than 4GB onto it which is a real pain and one that i couldnt get over.
    I did convert a load of DVD's to Divx which looked very good and were a fraction of the size, but then i had to keep the VOBs on my HD incase i wanted to conver thtem to something else, which in the end took up more space on my PC's 250GB HD.
    The system itself is OK, the menu is good enough and the PQ is very good over Component, but thats it.

    So, not wanting to be detered i requested an RMA, have sent it back and have now purchased another one. I was going to go for the ATMT version as it looked a better system and read more about it. But it is £230 for 400GB !!!
    I then found this :

    I have gone for the Sweex 500GB Media Player, for several reasons :

    It is ethernet enabled (VERY big selling point)
    Has Optical Out
    Has Component
    Has S-Video (as my Component has been taken up with my Topfield)
    It is aout £40 cheaper.
    and finally it is NTFS !!!! WOO HOO :D
    Therefore i can just rip my DVDs and send them over my Wireless network to the drive and play them.

    The Aria one cost me £180 in total (more like £190 with the postage :mad: )
    The Sweex cost me £210 delivered, so not too bad in comparison.

    It is this one :
    http://www.sweex.com/producten.php?sectie=&subsectie=input&item=127&artikel=710&detail=a&foto=2

    I am waiting for delivery of this and will report on how it goes once ive got it going (probably next week)


    :thumbsup:
     
  21. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mate, sorry to hear of your grief, wish I'd kept my mouth shut... :(

    Ah well, happy it's sorted now :thumbsup:
     
  22. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    No worries, it would be what i wanted if it had NTFS.
    Never mind, its gone now. Hopefully the Sweex will be what i want.
     
  23. Dan-h

    Dan-h
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Just came across your thread; the Sweex could be what I'm looking for as well.
    I am considering getting a NAS as part of my home wireless network, where I could store and stream videos/music to an AV Amp and then to a TV.
    How have you got on so far?
     
  24. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    Its being delivered this week. So will have it set up over the weekend and will review it start of next week.

    :smashin:
     
  25. stereoasishead

    stereoasishead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just found this thread, I am also looknig into getting a NAS to store all my video files on, and if this works it would be an edded bonus to have the option of playing back the files directly off it. Look forward to the review! Thanks
     
  26. Dan-h

    Dan-h
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Would be great to hear how it's gone? Thanks!! :)
     
  27. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    I KNOW, it would wouldnt it. :mad: i got an email from the shop saying that the Sweex box is stuck in customs, and as soon as it arrives they will stick a 500GB drive in it and send it out next day delivery, so still vcould be another week.
    Dont worry i havent forgotten, will post as soon as it arrives.

    Bloody thing, over 2 weeks its taken !!!

    :mad:
     
  28. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    We share your pain mate, we're all interested to see how it turns out :)
     
  29. absthechatter

    absthechatter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am wondering if this is basically the same as Freecom 35 and Mediagate 35. There are discussions on both in these forums??

    Abs
     
  30. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire/Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +593
    I did look at those, but decided on the Sweex as it was available in 500GB.
    The Freecom is 320GB for £190 and ive paid £199 for 500GB Sweex.
    Also the Sweex has S-Video, which im probably going to use until i sort out my component connections.

    Im sure they are the same product, but i weighted all 3 up and went for the Sweex.

    Oh and by the way, ive had an email saying that it should be with me this week !!! WE'LL SEE !!!!

    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...