1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

32 '' Plasma vs 30'' LCD

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Cmcg, Nov 30, 2003.

1. Cmcg

Cmcg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to this large screen TV game and am considering investing in a 32'' plasma or a 30'' LCD. I will be using it mostly for viewing sport , DVD film and regular TV. A few models that I have looked at are the :
    SONY KLV-30MR1 LCD
    SONY KE-32ts2E Plasma
    Philips30PF9975 LCD

Can anyone give me sound advice on this before I part with the hard earned reddies ??

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    generally plasma is better for fast moving but have a look at the sharp LC30HV4E superb LCD

3. Mike Hanrahan

Mike Hanrahan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Sony KLV 30MR1 mainly for the design, but it keeps intermittently going off for less than 1 second at a time and has been doing so for about 12 weeks. Sometimes it does not go off at all. The problem has been passed to Sony who are looking into the problem.
    My son has said it is "Picture drop", but I don't know what he is talking about. Does anybody else suffer with this problem?

4. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    could be frame drop but that is usually alot less than 1 second what source are you using? Analogue or Sky or freeveiw???does it happen on all sources or just one ie analogue but fine with DVD?

5. Cmcg

Cmcg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for the advice, also would you recomend plasma or LCD for using playstation2 ?
    Would you have any concerns about purchasing one of these TV's from an internet dealer ?
    thnx,
    Cmcg

6. Cmcg

Cmcg

Products Owned: