1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

32 6006 Console RGB?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Morton, Jul 9, 2002.

  1. Morton

    Morton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought a Philips 32 6006 and experienced the same problems with an RGB signal, from my Tosh 2109 DVD player, that have been mentioned here before.

    Philips Customer Service suggested I buy a Philips Dvd player :mad:

    I can possibly live with a S-vid connection but am worried about my consoles!! Will this problem still exist if I use RGB with my DC and GC.

    In particular I have just ordered a modded US Gamecube RGB scart!

    Does anyone have experience with this set up???

    Thanks
     
  2. tom-m

    tom-m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same tv, and I must be one of the very few people who is actually happy with the results using the RGB input, as the picture is excellent (even though I'm using an old Grundig 210A!!)

    Which problems are you referring to, is it ghosting, dark picture, both??

    As for customer service suggesting buying a philips dvd player, bl##dy cheek!!!:rolleyes:

    tom
     
  3. Morton

    Morton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Both, Ghosting and an extremely dark picture. They brought another new one round to me this afternoon - same problem :(

    I think I'm going give it back and choose another one.

    So....I need another 32" Tv around £500-£600, any suggestions?

    RGB a big deciding factor :clown:

    I new I should've stuck with Toshiba!!!!!
     
  4. rmg

    rmg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thompson are getting good reviews in the UK home Cinema newsgroup.

    Nige 'swears' by them ;-)

    I could not live with the interference on my PW6006 and as the gamecube (UK) only does RGB and not S-video it had to go.

    I take it you have bought a modded component cable to get RGB out of your US gamecube...

    How much did you pay for it.

    PS - I got a Bush 28inch TV for 270 quid and it has a very good RGB picture ;-)
     
  5. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    Why would a Philips DVD player be any different from any other make for RGB to work?

    This TV should work with all tellies in RGB,if not,then a fix should be sorted.

    You shouldn't have to go out and buy another DVD player,a Philips one at that,to get RGB to work properly.

    Philips are meant to be making things better aren't they?
     
  6. Morton

    Morton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought the US RGB scart from Goblin, I haven't tried it yet but I've heard good things about it. Their service was excellent, ordered Sunday, received yesterday even though the site still says "On Order". £44.99 + £3 Recorded postage.

    So, the test tonight will be - will it work on the Philips? I doubt it, good job I didn't get rid of my Tosh.

    The whole thing about buying a Philips DVD player was just crap, I laughed at the guy when he suggested it.

    I'm still waiting to here back from the shop, they're meant to contacting Philips for a fix.
     
  7. damolong

    damolong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 32 6006 works fine with RGD on DVD (Wharfedale 750) - great picture. However, it's really dark on RGB when using my NTL digi box.

    All these problems seem so inconsistent!
     
  8. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    This is really weird.Mine is the opposite.

    I assume it's a Pace NTL box.

    :confused:
     
  9. tom-m

    tom-m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perhaps Philips's quality control consists of a guy with a large mallet waiting at the end of the production line. :D

    Does seem a bit strange that RGB is so different from one tv to the next though.

    cheers
    tom
     
  10. damolong

    damolong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wayne - yes - Pace box. Not sure what model but it has the option to change to RGB.

    Suffering with sub-standard composite picture for normal viewing.
     
  11. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    I wouldn't say composite is sub-standard to RGB with the 6006,it has it's strengths.Metallic objects are more reflective and realistic and colours fresher.An overall more realistic picture.

    I'm used to composite on digital as this is what I first watched digital TV in.

    And overall S-Video is the best picture with my Sony DVD with this TV.
     
  12. damolong

    damolong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm judging it on text on the digi box on screen set-up menu. With RGB the text is far sharper - just really dark!
     

Share This Page

Loading...