Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

3 diff outputs to 1 Svhs input

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cutes6, Mar 4, 2001.

  1. cutes6

    cutes6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Near Leeds
    Ratings:
    +26
    Help please !!! I have a normal vcr with standard Scart output and Sat box with Rgb output and a Dvd with Svhs output.Is it possible to buy a box of tricks that will take these 3 different in puts and produce a single Svhs output for my projector.It would be nice if this box exists if I could control the switching with a Pronto.What would a 7 to 10 mtr length of good quality Svhs cable cost and what cable would you recomend for the same length of normal composite cable
    Thanks in advance

    ------------------
    A sucker for Toys !!
     
  2. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +275
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,823
    Cables: I use a 10m S-video cable to run from my players/amp to my projector. It as "Prowire by Vinvanco" cable, bought ex stock from a Sony centre in Leeds for £35. It's fine.

    Another good source for cables is Lektropacks.

    As for switching sources - I use my Home Cinema aplifier for this purpose - all equipment outputs routed into the Amp - the amp video output is routed to my TV and projector; audio goes to the speakers (surprise).

    If you really need a separate switching box - again, Lektropacks have a range.
     
  4. Jagular

    Jagular
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. cutes6

    cutes6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Near Leeds
    Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks for your replies guys I am very gratefull.I live near Leeds so I will give those guys a ring about the cable.Will the quality of the svhs output differ from a normal scart input as opposed to a rgb/scart input? Perhaps if I list my equipment somebody might advise me of the best setup just incase I am missing something here.

    Projector with 1 @ composite and 1 @ svhs input
    Sky sat box with 2 @ normal scart and 1 @ composite output
    Pioneer 636 dvd with 1 @ svhs and 2 @ scart output(1 is rgb but no rgb link through ?)
    Sony vhs with 2 @ scart and 1 @ composite output
    Sony strdb 925 amp with separate buses for composite and svhs inputs/outputs.

    Are there leads which I can buy that have scart at one end and svhs at the other and then I can use the amp to do the switching assuming it does this on the svhs bus system

    Sorry for going on and I am probably just confusing myself even more and I need to be put straight, Thanks

    ------------------
    A sucker for Toys !!
     
  6. cutes6

    cutes6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Near Leeds
    Ratings:
    +26
    Yes its me again there was one more thing what is the best coaxial cable to use for about a 25mtr run to the projector to recieve channel 3 as Sky havnt got there finger out yet,thanks

    ------------------
    A sucker for Toys !!
     
  7. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +275
    I think your best bet would be to do as Nigel has done and route everything through your amp and connect its s-video and composite outputs to the corresponding inputs of the projector.

    You have two options with your digibox:
    1) Connect the lower quality composite output to the amp or;
    2) Use a RGB to s-video converter (£60-80) to connect to your amp.

    Personally, I would choose option 2 as there is a significant difference between composite and s-video.

    Cheers,
    Liam



    ------------------
    "Do you hear that, Mr. Anderson? That is the sound of inevitability."
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice