1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3 channel power amp?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by ajwoodhouse, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. ajwoodhouse

    ajwoodhouse
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Currently using Denon DVD-2200, Sony STR-DB780 receiver and Yamaha 5.1 sub/sat speaker package for multichannel duties and a Naim hifi for stereo.

    I now want to use the Naim amplification (and spkrs) for front L/R (it has unity gain for AV) along with a Rotel processor I've just bought (used RSP-976, not interested in prologic II or any more than 5.1).

    I was thinking I'd stick with the sony for now and use the analogue 5.1 inputs to input preouts from the rotel for centre and rear surrounds and I guess this would work but would be clunky.

    Can anyone recommend a cheap 3 channel power amp to go with this? Pref s/h and not more than £300 if poss :blush:

    I listen to music more than movies/multichannel music so don't want to spend a fortune! Front speakers are B&W CDM1NTs and speaker upgrade may come later.

    Many thanks

    - Andrew
     
  2. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    there was a second hand arcam P35/3 for about 400ish a couple of weeks back. I'd look for an ex-dem / second hand P35/3 or for that matter any arcam poweramp that will accept an extra power channel.

    CaM
     
  3. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +27
    A bit over your spec but what about a Rotel RB 985 Mk II? It would be over your budget but then again you probably would be hanging on to it for a while !
    Let me know if you are interested and I will make an enquiry to see if it is still available.

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  4. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    £300 for a 985 MK II isan't that over the top.

    I was offered two within the last 3 months for £300 on here and another forum. It would be idea for what you want.

    Try and get hold of one secondhand you will not be disappointed.

    Steff
     
  5. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +27
    Nice to see you back.

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  6. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Andrew,

    I've gone through this path myself. Have you considered picking up a second hand Naim 90 x 2 or Naim 140 x 2 to run those other speakers off.

    I've gone from using a single NAP140 + Yamaha DSP800 to running 3 x NAP 140. It's been worthwhile taking the time to pick up the other boxes second hand and staying with Naim for amplification. I got one of the 140's for £250 from my dealer.

    Roy.
     
  7. ajwoodhouse

    ajwoodhouse
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To clarify - I'm looking for a fairly cheap power amp that I can use to power my centre and rear surround speakers.

    Naim would be nice but TBH even s/h is too expensive for the amount it gets used :eek:

    A rotel probably makes more sense given it will be paired with an RSP976 processor.
     
  8. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +27
    Please see my post above !

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  9. avanzato

    avanzato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +61
    Why not get two of the Rotel stereo amps, about £100 each S/H or one of their 6 channel jobs and bridge it £200-£250 S/H.
     
  10. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +107
    Would something like this do the trick? Run it bridged and you get 3 channels at 90W each, or you could have all 6 channels driven at 30 Watts which opens up the possibilities of bi-amping :smashin:

    Check out the manual and power specs here

    Can you guess what I have lying around unused? ;)


    Regards
     
  11. Alphatoner

    Alphatoner
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Berkhamsted
    Ratings:
    +40
    Hi,

    I've got a Yamaha DSP E800 which i used very effectively with an Arcam Alpha 10 before i changed to a full AV setup.

    Well within your budget.


    Ian
     

Share This Page

Loading...