3.5" hard drive in a PS3

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by AzzaM, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. AzzaM

    AzzaM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Im thinking of getting another 500gb hard drive and hooking it up to my PS3.

    Does it matter that it is Serial ATA-300?
    Has any one here done this? Because it is bloody hard to get the SATA power cable in to the PS3.
    Will the PS3 automatically format into FAT32?

    Cheers

    Frollkiller
     
  2. MattZani

    MattZani
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Weymouth
    Ratings:
    +23
    there's a guide on the internet to do it, but you can bugger your PS3 if you unplug it too much, and corrupt the whole thing if someone accidently pulls it out.
     
  3. AzzaM

    AzzaM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7

    Do you mean taking out the new hard drive over and over?



    If someone accidently pulls it out, ill pull their arms off.
     
  4. jonas000

    jonas000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've just upgraded to 120gb from 20gb and that will be more than plenty. :)
     
  5. MattZani

    MattZani
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Weymouth
    Ratings:
    +23
    yeah, the SATA connection is supposed to wear fast.
     

Share This Page

Loading...