1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2mb or 8mb cache perform best on Sky+ ??

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Steve237, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. Steve237

    Steve237
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Will there be a difference in performance betwene a 2Mb and 8Mb cache on a Sky+ V1 box?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    It doesn't matter. The amount of data going to the drive isn't high enough (even when recording two programmes at once) to make it an issue.
     
  3. Steve237

    Steve237
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Nick. What about choosing between ATA100 and ATA133 in different hard drive models? The reason I ask is I've seen this drive:

    80GB WESTERN DIGITAL JB 7200RPM 8Mb CACHE ATA100
    Interesting because it claims to automatically detect, isolate and repair problem areas, (This is the reason I'm replacing my current drive - it's full of glitches and is always getting stuck). However, it's not ATA133 - it is ATA100.

    Then there is this (or the 2Mb cache version):

    80GB MAXTOR 8MB CACHE 7200RPM IDE HDD ATA 133
    This is ATA133 rather than thew above ATA100. Will this make a difference????
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I think the most important thing for a HDD to work in a Sky+ box is the time it takes to spin up on switch-on. If it's too long, the box doesn't recognise the drive.

    I think the current thinking is that 5400 rpm drives are best, because they don't get so hot, but they're not easy to find. It's best to stick to drives that have been previously tested. You can find lists on this site, or the Hummer site or on the Digital Spy Forum site
     
  5. Steve237

    Steve237
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    OK, thanks for that Nick. Do 7200rpm drives generally take longer to start up then?
     
  6. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    No quicker but run slightly warmer.:cool:
     
  7. Steve237

    Steve237
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks chaps...

    I've just realised that my current PC has a Maxtor 6Y060L0 drive in it (according to digitalspy upgrade advice, the Maxtor 6YO80L0 works well for people on Sky+, so you'd think the 60Gb version would work well too wouldn't you? http://forum.digitalspy.co.uk/board/showthread.php?t=156344) - so I think I'll whip it out of my PC and get a nice new 80Gb fast 8mb cache one for my PC!

    One question - is there anything I need to do to the hard drive before I put it in my Sky+ box? Do I need to format it in any special way?
     

Share This Page

Loading...