2k Dome cameras, NVR and PoE help.

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by armourdillo, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. armourdillo

    armourdillo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hi everyone,

    I would like to setup some CCTV.
    Looking to put two outdoor domes up.

    I would like some help in what to select.

    Also the NVR would be in the loft or maybe downstairs.

    Any recommendation on equipment and could I use power line adapters to help cabling.

    Can I use PoE with power line adapters?

    The NVR must be able to email motion triggered photos on a motion alarm.

    Any help would be great and if you need more information from me please ask.

    Thanks again.
     
  2. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,193
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,171
    Hikvision
     
  3. Markr123

    Markr123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +45
    Sorry, no you cannot. If there is is power close by, use that. PoE is only available using run from the PoE injector / Switch to the endpoint device.
     
  4. armourdillo

    armourdillo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +37
    Ah, I see.

    Can I use the powerline adaptor to run from the home hub up into the loft, then connect that to a PoE switch?

    All the Poe stuff sits in the loft.

    Cheers
     
  5. Markr123

    Markr123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi, yes you can do that...
    Router > powerline ———- powerline > PoE Switch or injector > device
     

Share This Page

Loading...