27" Medion LCD £499 at Toys'R'us

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by chalkdust, Mar 20, 2005.

Tags:
  1. chalkdust

    chalkdust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Apparently there is a 27" LCD that sounds suspiciously like the recent offering from Aldi. Got this info from another site so do not have any details, just a heads up really.
     
  2. mr ooops

    mr ooops

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Hardwicke and Wotton
    Ratings:
    +349
    http://www.toysrus.co.uk/Product.aspx/TruHome/TruHomeEntertainment/TruHomeEntertainmentMedion/812005

    Description

    Features

    16:9 Flatscreen LCD-TV
    Excellent image quality
    Ideal for connecting home entertainment and multimedia devices
    Outstanding readability even at difficult lighting conditions
    Physical resolution 1280 x 720
    Screen diagonal 68cm
    Angle of vision: - Horizontal 170º (typ) - Vertical 170° (typ)
    Contrast ratio: 500:1 (typ)
    Brightness: 500cd/m2 (typ)
    Response time: 16ms (typ)
    TOP/FLOF Teletext
    Automatic station finding
    OSD (On Screen Display)
    Systems: PAL/SECAM/NTSC
    TV-Tuner: VHF/UHF/Hyperband
    Built-in speakers: 2 x 10 watt RMS
    Multifunction IR-remote (Batteries included)
    Weight incl. desktop stand 15.9 kg
    AC 100-240V~50/60Hz
    TÜV/GS approved Sockets
    75 Ohm antenna socket
    PC VGA in (15 pin D-Sub) Video
    Scart 1 in (RGB/S-Video/Video)
    Scart 2 in (RGB/S-Video/Video) out (Video)
    S-Video in (Mini DIN)
    Composite Video in (RCA) Audio
    2 x Stereo Audio in (RCA)
    Headphone out
    Dimensions include desktop stand
    Dimensions

    554(H) x 912(W) x 194(L) cm
     
  3. chalkdust

    chalkdust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Not sure if there are any left but the people who have them say they have a DVI socket as well!
     
  4. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    supposedly DVI and a 2 yr warranty card in the box. They are still taking orders online for them and are in stock at warehouse ... seems quite lovely and well featured for the price.

    Croydon was sold out unfortunately so when I got home I ordered one online and then rang a bit later to confirm it *was* indeed in stock, to be told it was already processed and 'to the warehouse' for allocation :thumbsup:
     
  5. chalkdust

    chalkdust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Wonder if they are hi-def capable, asking a bit much I suppose. If it is my Aldi Tevion is going back.
     
  6. marct10

    marct10
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    colwyn bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if they have a component input ??
     
  7. Flashman

    Flashman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have one, I bought it with a media centre PC as a bundled deal from Toys R Us.....

    It's an excellent tv and cracking monitor, BUT! Despite a DVI-D input it's not HDCP and there are NO component inputs......

    However, that said Doom 3 or Half-Life 2 or a good DVD are excellent!
     
  8. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about component via the hd15 d-sub as some do ?
     
  9. badboy killa

    badboy killa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats the model number of the display?
     
  10. marct10

    marct10
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    colwyn bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously tempted to buy this model over the Video7/Sonix from Sainsburys.
    benefits as I see them
    16:9 v 15:9
    16ms v 25ms
    27" v 26"
    2yr g'tee v 1yr

    disadvantages as I see them
    no component input
    No HDCP

    How much difference is there between component and RGB from a playstation 2 on an LCD monitor ??

    comments please
     
  11. square_eyes

    square_eyes
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The Sonix is 16ms.
     
  12. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +45
    No Component :thumbsdow , then No Prog Scan
    Does this set work well as a console monitor ? , looking for a games screen for my dinning room and some Tv / DvD use

    :devil:
     
  13. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +294
    So, has anyone actually managed to confirm these are definately DVI input too?
     
  14. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes DVI-D is confirmed by a few who 'actually' have theirs rather that just "on order"

    Have a query in with Medion at present regarding whether the screen would accept component via the 15p vga and whether the DVI is HDCP or not ...
     
  15. marct10

    marct10
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    colwyn bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like all the questions might be academic anyway, theyre out of stock on the web now !
     
  16. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ouch ... got a call earlier this morning to arrange my delivery (thurs pm)
     
  17. Flashman

    Flashman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +11
    To answer a couple of queries that people have asked on this thread (already answered!) This set IS DVI-D, it is NOT COMPONENT, NOR IS IT HDCP!

    I know the answers to these questions as I live literally about two hundred yards from the Medion UK building, which is on a trading estate at the rear of my house....Saves having to wait for an age for an email or return tel call!

    I wouldn't worry about the model number, a search on Google brings up very little, just the Toys R Us link and a few obscure references on foreign sites.

    The set is great (IMHO) for DVD and use with my PC, both for surfing, DVD and FPS....
     
  18. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to know, thanks, doesn't affect us as this is for the bedroom anyway but might now cause some to rethink. Missed your earlier post btw ...

    That's an unfair advantage, but would lead to brilliant CS for you I would think (if nothing else they'd sort you out to make you go away :rotfl: )
     
  19. Chavvychase

    Chavvychase
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forgive me for being so ignorant, but what does 'component' mean here? I would want it mainly for watching Sky, recording and playing back DVDs. Presumably it will do all of this?

    An advantage it has over the Sonix is that it has a headphone socket. It is also an inch bigger. A disadvantage is that it has speakers at the sides, making it look a lot bigger (I don't know why more companies don't put them under the screen - I personally think they look a lot neater).

    Another disadvantage, if the sale of PCs at Aldi and Toys is anything to go by, is that they will be gone in a flash - never enough to go around!
     
  20. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Component is another way to cable/hook up a DVD/etc to a screen, and component video quality-wise is a step up from RGB over Scart ... connected via three separate cables (usually as RCA connectors unless one is referring to more expensive kit, then BNC connectors) and is how a DVD is written/stored on the disc itself so theory has it that is the ultimate/best way to deliver the signal unless SDI/HDMI or similar is available and supported
     
  21. BADA55

    BADA55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3

    The Sonix is 16ms not 25ms....the manual is wrong.

    Sainsburys against TRU for after sales service?? Sainsburys might offer a 1 year guarantee but they will give a new replacement if they have one or full refund and I know this is how they opperate from previous experience and Ive been very satisfied. My experience and friends of mine exeriences of TRU has been the opposite and I certainly would not buy any expensive item from them again.

    It is possible the Sonix is HDCP complient. I'm still trying to get a yay/nay on that one. Ebuyer says their Video7 is HDCP compliant and the Sonix appears identical in every way.

    I dont notice any problems from my screen dimensions showing full widescreen in its various formats without distortion what-so-ever.
     
  22. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sainsburys CS may not be bad, but I'd take 2yrs of Medion over 1yr of Sainsburys any day. Never had a prob myself with the two Medion bits I've owned in the past, but a mate's PC just up and died in the 13th month a bit ago. Medion said no prob, pack it up and send it back, and fixed it free of charge even though was a month out of warranty.
     
  23. Flashman

    Flashman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +11
    I've had Medion PC's before, the first one of the cheap Aldi specials advertised in the national press. I have to say it was great, very reliable and customer support on the rare occasions I used it fine...

    My main set is a 32" Toshiba LCD, the Medion 27" however is nearly as big!

    This is due to the large speakers at the side and the black surround which set around the actual screen. It was a bit of a suprise when I unpacked it, as I was expecting something considerably smaller!
     
  24. BADA55

    BADA55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Oh if its a problem of extended warranties I just take out breakdown cover through the cheapest insurer. After all that gives me 5 years in total and the last one was only £34 (in-store extended warranties are a rip off as I'm sure we all know). Although Sainsburys offer that 1 year guarantee I believe the Sonix tv has another years warranty on it too to cover repairs :)
     
  25. Chavvychase

    Chavvychase
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the PQ like? Are you happy with it so far?
     
  26. Chavvychase

    Chavvychase
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    PS, I measured the dimensions in the spec against those of my 28" CRT. I was surprised that width-wise, it is considerably bigger.
     
  27. BADA55

    BADA55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmmmmm Surely you saw the tv before you bought it? I do agree with you though. The point of an LCD for me and many millions of others no doubt primarily is a space saving idea more than anything else. Now the likes of Medion and the Acer both put their speaker to the sides and this not only makes the screen appear bigger thats because it IS bigger. I am sure their maybe a better chance of improved sound by using larger speakers in the sidesbut surely thats missing the whole point!!??

    Sonix or Video7 not only look better imo but fit into smaller places :)
     
  28. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +294
    Well, picked one of these up last night, and must say, well impressed with it.
    Some might remember that I've had a heck of a time deciding on a panel, firstly I got the Sonix, but the 15:9 annoyed me too much, so that's going back. Got a 579 Goodmans from RS, that had a fault, exchanged for a 27w2lcd Goodmans, that too went back, got another, but the DVI wouldn't work. Got this Medion, and it's lovely. It is big. The surround is huge, but the picture is excellent, the sound decent, the menus are great, PIP works very well, and it even has a proper stepping zoom to remove black bars...
    Function wise, I'm very impressed, and will hopefully be keeping this one!

    And yes, it does come with a 2 year warranty!
     
  29. marct10

    marct10
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    colwyn bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    Care to give us a definitive list of the inputs it has ? (and any other specs the manual may state)
    Which branch had stock ?, I called in the York branch on my way home last night, out of stock and the staff had'nt a clue as to when more stock would arrive.
     
  30. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +294
    Inputs: 2 scart, both RGB, scart 2 has output too. DVI, VGA(D-sub), RF all on the back.
    On the side, you've got svideo, composite and stereo audio in via phono, headphone out, and another I can't remember right now, I'm at work!
    I got mine from Manchester Ancoats store, but it was the last one... When I range the stockport branch, they kindly offered to ring around and find one for me, that they could ararnge delivery on.

    Like I said, it is big, but that is so far, it's only downside. I'd say this was the current king of the cheapy LCD sets!, And I've had a few....;)

    Any other questions, I'll try to answer!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice