24p support with firmware upgrade

vipergrm

Hi guys,

I was wondering if anyone knows, is it possible for a set to gain native 24p support through a firmware upgrade? I know some of the newer sets claim to have 24p support but only do so by using a 3:2 pulldown method (back to 60hz) which makes it pointless.

Personally, I cannot see how this would be a problem but I am no expert. Could the firmware make the particular set use 2:2, 3:3 or 4:4 pulldown to eliminate judder? Thanks!

NonPayingMember

Previously Liam @ Prog AV
If the video processing chip is firmware upgradeable, and if the TV manufacturer had access to the required code and interface, and could justify the cost of having the R&D dept go out and work it out and get it programmed and tested and delivered to market then still only possibly. The glass itself would still have to be able to refresh at an integer multiple of 24p for it to receive a firmware upgraded signal which 2:2s or 3:3s the 24p to 48Hz or 72Hz.

Hillie

Novice Member
Without any more information, we can only say "maybe". It depends on a whole number of factors.

vipergrm

If the video processing chip is firmware upgradeable, and if the TV manufacturer had access to the required code and interface, and could justify the cost of having the R&D dept go out and work it out and get it programmed and tested and delivered to market then still only possibly. The glass itself would still have to be able to refresh at an integer multiple of 24p for it to receive a firmware upgraded signal which 2:2s or 3:3s the 24p to 48Hz or 72Hz.
Thanks Liam, it doesn't look good then :(

vipergrm

Liam,

What is your view on manufacturers claiming to support 24p when all they do is use 3:2 pulldown and convert the signal back to 60hz? Personally, I find this very misleading. What difference does it make? The LG PG6000 appears to only do 3:2 pulldown as does the 2008 Samsung plasmas. I'm just disappointed that manufacturers cannot be more honest.