1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

22" Sharp LCD power problem......

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by chard, Feb 27, 2004.

  1. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am fond of my new Sharp 22SV2E. However, after a week there has been an intermittment problem on two occasions.

    The TV has turns itself off onto standby after 5 seconds. It can be switched on again, but after 5 seconds it goes into standby !?

    To make things more confusing, this seems to only happen when it is tuned into the Sky channel and not when it is recieving terrestrial signals or DVD.

    The telly is in a bedroom and recieved signal through a standard coaxial cable, with an i-link for Sky 'daisy-chained' in the connection.

    can anyone suggest anything ?

    PS - I don't think that the Sharp is simply showing 'good taste' by turning off Sky !!
     
  2. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +130
    I've had mine about three weeks now it it hasn't done this.
    The only slightly annoying thing it is now doing (which it didn't for the first week) is that the PSU has got noisy and makes a high pitch noise that I can hear in quiet scenes.
     
  3. Chippy99

    Chippy99
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +523
    Norman

    Does your screen hum, when you set the brightness to Dim or Medium, instead of Auto?

    Thanks,

    Chip
     
  4. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +130
    No it doesn't. The noise mine makes is the PSU and it is intermitant.

    From your other post I think you have a faulty set.
     
  5. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Mine doesn't hum, it has a high pitched whine, which changes in volume as the brightness preset is changed. In a complete reverse of the noise plasmas make in regard to brightness of picture, my Sharp LCD whines more loudly, the darker the picture.:confused:
     
  6. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    apologies for resurrecting this thread, but the power cut off hasn't happened again -

    however, I am getting frequent brief sound drop out on the Sky + channel.

    This is not while watching DD channels, but Sky One and Gold.

    I don't get this on the Sharp while watching terrestrial channels thru the same ariel, nor do I get the Sky sound drop outs on any other TV in the house !!

    please help ! do I take the TV back to John Lewis ? is this likely to be a faulty set !

    many thanks
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    JL wont want to know mate phone Sharp they repair all LCD in house they will send a flight case for it and collect often a loan set too, see what they say.
     

Share This Page

Loading...