20gb or 60gb ???

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by metin, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. metin

    metin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello,

    Just going thru the asking questions phase before splashing the cash! I am very new to gaming and It looks like the PS3 is the one, instead of waiting for UK launch I find myself itching to buy one NOW !!!! can you tell me if there is a big diff between 20 or 60 gig version, what are the pros and cons?

    also, will this machine be user friendly ? with 5.1 audio, online gaming etc....

    very sorry If I am asking questions already answered:(

    any help would be great:smashin:

    Thanks
    Metin.
     
  2. Brad182

    Brad182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    60 GB has Wi-Fi and a Card Reader built in which the 20gb Doesn't have, Both Have Internetcapabilities though. Im Sure other people here will answer in more detail but thats the basics,

    Do a search mate Im sure you'll find the info you need! :thumbsup:
     
  3. Stevie LA

    Stevie LA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +306
    yes, yes, and yes

    I would get the 60gig version as it gives more room for music, videos, demo's

    Blu Ray is 7.1 if you need it.
     
  4. metin

    metin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    what can I do with wi-fi ??? once sorry for asking dumb questions.:mad:
     
  5. oOo Moylez oOo

    oOo Moylez oOo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +5
  6. Deleted member 92943

    Deleted member 92943
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess it depends on how much the card reader and wifi means to you? If they are not iportnat, i would get the 20GB version and spend the money towards getting like a 120GB Hard Drive to replace the 20gb one. But that's only really if you are going to install Linux and use it like a Computer
     
  7. lisbonlion

    lisbonlion
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +216
    i got a 20gb version since i was going to upgrade the hard drive anyway, the wifi would be good but i can just add a faster bridge than the internal card or used a wired connection, im sure sony will release a usb wifi device at some point anyway. It is all down to personal preference, if you intend to upgrade the hard drive and are not bothered about the card reader i'd say go for the 20gb and use the money you save for a game, a bigger hard drive and an ethernet bridge.
     
  8. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +91
    I went 20g as well no need for wifi as i dont like it for online gameing anyway ethernet is the only way to go, plus i have no psp and dont plan on buying one either. I dont use anyform of flash media so dont need the card reader if i do down the line a usb one will be no more than a few quid. With the money saved i bought games movies and a hdd.:D
     
  9. psikey

    psikey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,966
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,152
    Bought a 20GB one and upgraded to 120GB drive. Using the 20GB in a pocket USB housing so nothing wasted :thumbsup:

    Also think I prefer it all black whereas the 60GB has the Chrome bits.
     
  10. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think if you do not need WIFI acces, a 20gb is perfect. with the price differnce you can buy a 100g harddrive and replace your 20g .

    selamlar

    hey69
     
  11. TLT

    TLT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The thing is that there should be no difference really cause yes the 60GB does have the slots and wi-fi but to be honest all you have to do is plug the LAN cable in and there's your internet. Then just plug in a usb multi slot hub and theres your slots.

    Its just a lazy way to have a 60GB lol:boring:

    But it's up to your prefrences.
     
  12. metin

    metin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    many thanks, I am about to get the 60gb, just watching ebay now, one more thing the US versions are NTSC, do I not have to have a PAL veriosn in the UK ?? Or am I being stupid ???

    Thanks eveyone:hiya:
     
  13. TLT

    TLT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your being stupid lol...

    It is fine to have one in the UK but just plug on a IEC computer or kettle cable into the console with a 3 amp fuse in the plug and you'll be fine and of you go.

    Just means that you have to get the correct DVD'S due to region blocking.
     
  14. KTroopA

    KTroopA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +97
    same here :) think it was the best decision right now, as also the £ is strong against the $. can anyone recommend a decent wifi bridge that will work with my netgear router.

    sorry for slighty o/t ...
     
  15. metin

    metin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    sorry what is a IEC computer or kettle cable?? Also I just spoke to Sony and they advise PAL games are ok but you CANNOT watch uk films on NTCS, how do I get round that?
     
  16. hey69

    hey69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    a standard pc power cable.

    and no there isn't a way around that. you contacted Sony UK to ask those questions?
     
  17. TLT

    TLT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its the power cable with the 3-pin output and UK plug.

    You will have to buy the US DVD's I think but double check this as my memory is not that great:rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. TLT

    TLT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant believe you asked sony that lol

    Your crazy:thumbsup:
     
  19. metin

    metin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    I know, they said it is illegal to buy ps3 on ebay in the uk!! also they finally put me off buying when they said you have no warranty rights when buying abroad! forget that I'm not spending £500+ and no warranty!!!
     
  20. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +91
    Well you would have to find someone in the country of orgin to send it back for you. Ms have a better take on this if its in warrenty they will fix it regardless of region.
     

Share This Page

Loading...