2 Year Warranty as standard - EU Law

salubrious_k

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Please correct me if I'm wrong (I'm not a legal expert), but I've been doing a bit of research since I read a few comment regarding last night's Watchdog (which incidentally I didn't watch, so I hope I'm not repeating anything here).

Anyway, it seems that according to some EU legislation published in 1999, since 2002 it has become a legal requirement that all consumer goods sold in the EU must have a minimum of a 2 year warranty.

So from what I understand, if something breaks within 2 years and the retailer or manufacturer claim that there is only a 1 year warranty, you just need to quote Article 5 of the EU Product Warranty Directive (1999):

Article 5

Time limits

1. The seller shall be held liable under Article 3 where the lack of conformity becomes apparent within two years as from delivery of the goods. If, under national legislation, the rights laid down in Article 3(2) are subject to a limitation period, that period shall not expire within a period of two years from the time of delivery.

If you fancy boring yourself to sleep or proving me wrong (which I admit could be the case), then you can read the whole directive here:
http://europa.eu.int/smartapi/cgi/s...numdoc&lg=EN&numdoc=31999L0044&model=guichett

So... am I right? Are we covered on our 360's for 2 years by EU law?

Well that's a bit crap. Why is the UK so slow, it suggests that this had to be in place by 2002:

Article 11

Transposition

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive not later than 1 January 2002. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

Hang on a minute...

I've just found this: