1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 subs??

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by diesel, Apr 8, 2002.

  1. diesel

    diesel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +57
    Sorry if this is a dumb question, but an opportunity has arisen for me to purchase (cheaply) a 2nd M&K VX100 Sub.

    My question is this: I have a Sony STRDB 1070 Amp, is it possible to run 2 subs from this amp, is it worth doing and how do I do it?

    Okay so I cheated and theres more than one question:D

    Can anyone offer an opinion plz:confused:
     
  2. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,757
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +7,133
    It maybe an idea to ask to try out the second sub before buying. I recently purchased a cheap second Rel Storm, but had major hassles getting it right. In the end I decided to get rid of it.
     
  3. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,757
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +7,133
    Sorry

    As for connecting to the amp, if you only have one phono output then buy a y splitter from maplins which will do the job for you.
     
  4. diesel

    diesel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +57
    flippin heck ur up late m8. Thanx for the reply. Is this the way most peeps connect 2 subs or do some amps have 2 connections?
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Some amps have indeed two connections, well, mine has actually three: L, R and mono. (Yamaha DSP-A1)
     
  6. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had my REL Strata IIIs connected using a cheap Y splitter, replaced it with a monster cable T splitter and the bass improved significantly, about 20 pounds a pair...
     

Share This Page

Loading...