1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 Sky+ questions

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by GAmbrose, Oct 14, 2003.

  1. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +57
    All installed, up and running and the picture looks amazing on my Panny 6.

    1) I've recieved the new smaller PACE Sky+ box and the fan is constantly on, even when I put the box into standby mode. Normally this wouldn't be a problem except that it's installed in my bedroom and I think it's gonna annoy me when I try to goto sleep.

    2) If it is recording, what happens if you put it in Standby mode? Does it stop or carry on?

    Gary A
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Reboot the box, for some reason the version 2 boxes run the fan 24/7 after they are first installed. After the reboot the fan should then operate in it's normal mode, temp sensitive.

    SKY+ is quite happy to record programs while it is in standby, the standby mode does very little except turn off the video outputs and the power saving is negligible.
     
  3. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    the fan on my v2 sky+ box stays on all the time even after a reboot, will this do the box any harm
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    It shouldn't do but I would be worried if it's running due to the internal temp/ambient temp being too high and not because of a software issue. Constant high temperatures could very well shorten the lifespan of the box.
     
  5. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    box feels very cool to the touch its not mounted in a rack it just sits on top of my vcr and sits on a shelf, the sides , back and top of the box are unobstructed so the vents are clear and the air flow around the box is very good.

    should i be worried or just leave it as i have it under warranty & i have the extended warranty
     
  6. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +57
    A reboot seemed to sort it, thanks.

    Gary A
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    If the fan noise isn't an issue and the box does not feel hot and you are all well covered warranty wise then perhaps there isn't too much to worry about.
    However I am no expert so the choice has to be yours:)
     
  8. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    My box did this although I pulled the top off and disconnected the fan before trying a reboot. The HDD is positioned in top, middle of the box and really should not get hot enough to need the fan. Depends on whats on top of the box but mines on the top of the rack and well vented.

    The box does get hot if I have the hard drive connected but I'm thinking of changing it for an 80Gb 2.5" notebook drive which will run almost silent and very cool. Expensive though.
     
  9. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the best reboot? Just unplug, wait a while (30 secs), and then plug back in? Or do you hold the backup button while plugging it back in (software update)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...