2 recording problems: panasonic DMR-EH60

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by firsttee, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. firsttee

    firsttee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello gurus- 2 questions
    1. can someone please explain to me why is it that although Eurosport is on the freeview within the DVD, the machine not record this channel. are there other channels that will not be recorded?

    2. So far I understand that once you press the record button, no change can be made in the DVD apart from viewing previously recorderd programs, UNLESS the recording is timer recording. Am I wrong???

    Many thanks
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    Eurosport is an encrypted channel and is part of TopupTV I believe.
    A "CAM" slot, subscription and viewing card would be needed to view.
     
  3. firsttee

    firsttee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    I CAN view the channel, no problem there, but the machine will not record from it. Is that what you meant?
     
  4. marts62

    marts62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    hemel hempstead
    Ratings:
    +3
    You must be lucky then, coz I bet 99.9% CAN'T see Eurosport without subscribing aforehand.
     
  5. marts62

    marts62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    hemel hempstead
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes and no
    DVD+/-R can be recorded to 'once', up until there's no more space, and must be finalised to make it readable by other dvd players.
    DVD+/-RW can be recorded to many times.
    AFAIK whether timer recording is active makes no odds.
     
  6. firsttee

    firsttee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, but that's not what I meant. My problem is that if I watch any channel and decide that I want to record it (usually XP to HDD) I then cannot do anything else with the machine other than view previously recorded progs.

    If however, I set the machine to time recort, THEN while it is recording, I can switch to NTL for example or any other channel
     
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    I think this may be a problem with your TV, Cable and DVDR and how they are connected.
    It sounds as though you have the cable connected through the DVDR scart.
    You probably need another connection from your cable direct to the TV.
    If in doubt report back with the type of TV and how it is all connected including the number of scart sockets on the TV.
     
  8. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Panasonic DVD Recorders are great, but they do not pass through a signal while "busy", so you'll need to have a second connection from your cable box to the TV. As to which cable scart socket to go to the recorder and which to the TV depends upon:

    1) what signals your TV accepts on its scart socket(s) and it's s-video/component inputs (if any)?

    2) whether you're more likely to watch cable and record freeview than record cable and watch analogue?

    3) is ease of use or perect picture recording more important to you?
     
  9. Robbie34

    Robbie34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +11
    I think your problem is that you have a subscription for Top Up TV and you are able to view Eurosport, but your DVD recorder does not have the means of decrypting the channel. You will have to feed the DVD from an external source, as the integrated digital tv tuner will not be able to receive the channel.
     
  10. Sandy13

    Sandy13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    S. W. Wales
    Ratings:
    +88

    I must be lucky also, as I see Eurosport and Eurosport 2 very clearly! I do have a Sky Sports subscription, but surely that's nothing to do with them! is it?
     
  11. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    This is Eurosport on Freeview not Satellite.
     
  12. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    Firsttee stated "although Eurosport is on the freeview within the DVD" so unless he has a Freeview box or IDTV he hasn't mentioned? :confused: :confused:
     
  13. Robbie34

    Robbie34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +11
    If you read his original post he said that "Eurosport is on the freeview within the DVD." However, he never said that he could watch it via the DVD. It would appear that his DVD recorder has a digital tuner, but it doesn't have a Top Up TV CAM and card. I'm not aware of any DVD recorder having the means of decrypting subscription channels.
     
  14. Sandy13

    Sandy13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    S. W. Wales
    Ratings:
    +88
    :oops: Sorry!
     
  15. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    Which is what I said in my first reply.
     
  16. firsttee

    firsttee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I CAN watch Eurosport via the DVD (origin is the freeview in the machine). Recording this channel gives me black screen. I guess there must be some sort of blockage on this channel (similar to the one NTL put on paid movies)
     
  17. firsttee

    firsttee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My TV is an older model with one scart only, and nothing else. Cables connect to DVD and not TV. I will try and add another scart to the TV from the cabel and see what happenes. Question now is: How do I sort the connections if I am more likely to record from NTL and not freeview?
     
  18. Robbie34

    Robbie34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +11
    I can't see how you can be watching Eurosport via the Freeview tuner in your DVD recorder, otherwise you would be able to record from it. To check if it is from the DVD switch off your Freeview box and view the output from the DVD. Use the DVD remote to move through the channels and you should be able to get BBC 1 etc., but not Eurosport, Discovery and the other Top Up TV channels.

    I've just twigged that you may have a cable box from NTL. If that is the case, then you certainly can't get Eurosport from the Freeview tuner in the DVD. If you want to record Eurosport you will have to feed it from the cable receiver to the DVD.
     
  19. firsttee

    firsttee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well not sure what is happening. I am 100% sure I was on Eurosport on Wednesday watching (and trying to record) golf highlights, from Freeview and not NTL. Now though the screen is black, so I may have got it all wrong. Will try again soon. Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...