1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 paradigm ps1000s or a rel 200/1?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by astonbilla, Aug 9, 2002.

  1. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Any ideas folks, i can get 2 paradigms for the price of a Q200e.

    Has anyone used 2 paradigms, and are they good in a pair?, better yet will they outperform the REL

    thanks guys
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    Hi

    The old chap has got a Paradigm PS1000 running with my old Q200. To be honest there´s not a huge difference between the two, the Rel goes a bit lower. I would have thought two PS1000´s would outperform a single Q200. It´s down to you but the Q200 needs to be tinkered around with to get the best out of it, the Paradigm was easier to setup in terms of bass performance (keep away from walls if possible).
     
  3. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    so the ps1000 is a good enough wee sub then?, i have a Denon 3802 and mission cinema 7 speakers.

    Im desperate for a sub so if this paradigm would do, then happy days are here again

    Wonder what Uncle Eric would make of this setup?, he knows his stuff.
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    I think you´ll find Uncle Eric is not keen on the Rel Q150/200/201.

    I must point out that your room will also have a huge effect on the sub performance. When I had the Q200 in mine (best spot in it, on spikes, marble slabs on top and tweaked over a long period!) it sounded better than in my old chaps place and paired with the PS1000. Never tried the PS1000 in my place so it´s possible that could sound even better than the Rel.

    Other options to consider are the Velodyne subs in the Power Buys Forum (CHT10). Supposed to be better than both the Paradigm and the Rel.:)
     
  5. GJC

    GJC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +66
    I'm surprised someone hasnt suggested you buy a Velodyne from the Power Buys forum;)
     
  6. GJC

    GJC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +66
    Sorry Jase - both reply's appeared on screen at the same time.
     
  7. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Jase, isn't the crossover fixed on the velodyne?

    85 i think?, do laugh if i'm way off
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    That´s the high pass filter thats fixed. If you connect via low level (phono) from the sub out of your amp you can adjust the crossover to wherever you want (within its range obviously!).
     
  9. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    I know i sound like an idiot, but regardless of which sub i get - how should i hook it up. I mean, at all. I have neeeever had a sub nor fiddled with one. Are there any fundamentals i should know?
     
  10. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    Easiest way is to use a phono cable from the subwoofer output of your amp into the low level input of the sub. Depending on what you have your speaker settings as (Large or Small) dictates what position you have the crossover set at, you can also ignore the subs crossover as well if you wish (it will be controlled by the amp). Then its a case of adjusting the volume to suit your taste (ears!!).:)
     
  11. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Both Jase and I have on one of astonbilla's previous posts on prospective sub purchases.
     
  12. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    well, call me picky then. I'm sure everyone puts in a lot of research before buying and you guys know more than any poxy review i have found.

    Sorry if i have pis*ed you off, but i don't want to buy something only to regret it later - like that guy who started off defending his Q150E to the hilt then all of a sudden became a novice on the matter... now what was his name?
     

Share This Page

Loading...