Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

2 optical sources, 1 optical input

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Triggaaar, Jul 5, 2004.

  1. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,177
    For 5.1 from sky+, and xbox, I think my only option is optical cable, but I only have 1 optical input on my processor.

    If I can't get digital coax out from sky+ or xbox, what are my options?
    Converter, splitter?

    Thanks
     
  2. SSB

    SSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +171
  3. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,177
    Thanks. Very inexpensive. Would it be correct to assume the signal would not be affected at all?

    Only other otion is to have one of the optical signals converted to digital coax. Ant recommendations there, for as lossless as possible?
     
  4. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,284
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,896
    I use the splitter , which is even cheaper from the above , for the exact same as you want to (xbox & sky) . so long as Sky+ is in standby , no problems at all :D
     
  5. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,177
    Bound to be some loss of quality with a splitter I assume. Can't stomach the idea of losing quality :) Also, I guess I'll need sky left on for other roos in the house.
     
  6. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,284
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,896
    never noticed to be honest , after all its only 1's and 0's what goes in comes out ;) I'll hide now and wait for the arguments to start :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice