2 into 4 does go - Yes or No ??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by LynE, Feb 20, 2002.

  1. LynE

    LynE
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many SCART problems can you have ???

    My Sony TV has 2 Scarts.

    I have;

    Sky Box
    Video
    Playstation
    DVD (RGB)

    How do I get 4 into 2 then ???????

    Any ideas
     
  2. justy101

    justy101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wem, Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +17
    If the DVD player and VCR have 2 SCARTS as well then I would try the following.

    DVD > TV RGB Scart
    SKY > DVD
    VCR >TV
    SKY > VCR

    This way should give you RGB Picture quality on both the DVD player and the sky box, the DVD should root the RGB output from the sat box when in standby. Also note the connection between Sky and the VCR, so you can record from the sat box.

    For the PS then I would expect that you have a front panel input on the TV.

    Of course all of this is useless if either the dvd player or VCR do not have 2 Scarts, if they don't then may be try this.

    VCR > Sat
    Sat > TV
    DVD > TV RGB
    PS in front panel inputs again, or in to the DVD Player IF it has 2 scarts.
     
  3. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't quite understand how you can "daisy chain" them like that...

    I haven't got a DVD player, but it's not exactly an "input" device is it? So how can it receive a SCART signal?

    -TF
     
  4. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DVD AV1 > TV AV1.....RGB
    SKY AV1 > DVD AV2....RGB loop
    SKY AV2 > VIDEO AV2
    VIDEO AV1 > TV AV2

    If your TV has S- VIDEO normally found on the front of the TV behind a flap you can plug the PS2 in there.
     
  5. marcoeser

    marcoeser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've connected VCR>Digibox>DVD(RGB)>TV(RGB SCART) and it works a treat, although sometimes the TV gets confused what signal it should handle, then I just have to switch some things off.
    If you don't have the front connections on your TV you should have some on the front of your VCR you can use for the PS.
    Can you state what units you've got so we can help you further?

    marc
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't geddit... how does that work?

    Can a TV detect which signal to use?

    Is SCART like USB, where you can daisy chain devices too?

    *confused*

    -TF
     
  7. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    I don't have scart problems, and I don't even have daisy chain problems. No... I have Quattro problems... without the 'problems' bit.
     
  8. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you switch a device on which is connected via scart it will send a small voltage down one of it's pins which is interpreted by the TV as a message to switch to that connection AV1/AV2/ etc, if you have a daisey chain it will go through a loop, think of the devices as block connectors just there to carry the signal through to the TV without a break.
     
  9. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You must Know the Four Sprung Dwarf Technique then..........
     
  10. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm kindof a bit clearer now...

    -TF
     
  11. MarkB

    MarkB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    Ratings:
    +26
    Yes, that's how I get RGB to the telly.
    STB > DVD > TV.
    When the DVD is in standby the SCART signal that is connected to DVD EXT2 is sent directly out of EXT1. As soon as the DVD is activated it suspends loopthrough as outputs it's own signals.
    I use S-Video too, connected through my amp which I'm extremely happy with. Could you not do that? You could also get a SCART switcher box.
    Mark
     
  12. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get what you mean! Loop through!

    So when the DVD isn't playing anything, it passes the signal of the next connected device straight through (as if it wasn't there), but when there's a signal, the DVD stops doing this and output's it's own signal.

    Ah-ha! :D

    EDIT: missing word

    -TF
     
  13. MarkB

    MarkB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    Ratings:
    +26
    You got it!
     
  14. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    God I'm good huh?

    :D

    -TF
     
  15. LynE

    LynE
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the help.

    I will try re patching over the weekend, when the kids are asleep not sure it will work though as my DVD has only 1 SCART.

    Are there any SCART boxes out there that will help ???

    Those of you that know the Sony, guessed right I do put the PS2 into the front (AV3) of the TV.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice