1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 channel sterio power amp with 2 pre-ins does such a thing exist please

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by mick23, May 3, 2004.

  1. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi all is there a 2 channel sterio power amp with 2 pre-ins???

    have tried various integrateds still cannot get quite the sound im looking for .

    so if a power exists as above my idea is to use front pre-outs of 3802 to power amp for av use.

    and conect possible a valve pre to "second" pre in of power to use with tt, cd and tuner,

    if there is a better methode /easier way advice welcome,

    thank you
     
  2. Iassh

    Iassh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia (Spain)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mick23,

    Yes, that power amp exists: it is the Musical Fidelity A-308 CR. Check MF website for more info.

    Bye !
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    The other thing to look for is balanced / unbalanced inputs which 'may' also do what you require.
     
  4. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +141
    something like a QED input expander will also do that - allowing you to use any power amp!
     
  5. damien.w1

    damien.w1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi. yea such a thing does exist, my rotel rb1080 had 1 set of rca unbalanced inputs and 1 set of xlr balanced inputs. im seling this at a reasonable price so check out my post in the classified section. rrp is 850 by the way and open to offers......
     
  6. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    I use the 308 power amp in the way you describe.

    Simply push a button at the front to switch between AV and HiFi - works well and doesn't compromise the sound of my CD's and LP's in the way an all AV solution would, well untill you go high end that is.

    Gus
     
  7. HouseofMu

    HouseofMu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    The Roksan Capsian integrated amp has pre in/outs. I use it in conjunction with a Caspian power amp, currently has 3 amp channels in it, but is expandable to 5. So an Integrated amp with 5ch pwr amp would be sufficient for a 7.1 setup.
    This setup allows me to use my CD player with the superior (to most AV all-in-ones) pre-amp in the Integrated amp. My processor is connected to a seperate aux channel on the Int. amp.

    I feel this is a best of both worlds setup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...