1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 channel / ht setup

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by tmcevoy, Apr 18, 2004.

  1. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My system currently comprises of
    Helios 1 cd player (similar in quality to a Wadia)
    Magnum Dynalab FT101A tuner
    Canary Audio CA 608 integrated amp
    Denon 2900 DVD player
    Living Voice Avatar OBX speakers

    I have bought a pair of Proac 1SC for the rears
    and two Monarchy Audio SM70 Pro to power the rear speakers in monoblock mode ( when i get a Proac CCTwo centre channel I will use one of the Monarchy Audios to run both rear speakers)

    To tie the system in together I have ordered a Bryston SP1.7 processor

    My question is if anyone has a similar setup is it best to connect the CD player and tuner directly to the integrated amp rather than through the Bryston. Then just connect the DVd and Sky+ through the Bryston . If I do it this way will I have a problem with the volume controls.

    Any help with this would be much appreciated
    Thanks a lot
    Tony
     
  2. ditton15

    ditton15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont have such a hi end AV processor, but I would recommend connecting the CD player directly to the integrated stereo amp. It may be that the Bryston has an analogue bypass tho.

    Can your stereo amp can be switched into power amp mode when fed the AV signal? If so, that would solve the volume control problem for AV. Otherwise, you will have to use the pre-amp/volume in the integrated as well as the Bryston - usually solved as a cludge by putting the volume to 12 o'clock and calibrating/using the Bryston vol control.

    hth
     
  3. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Bryston does have an analogue bypass , I'm thinking if I put everything through the bryston then I can set the volume on the power amp and leave it . I can then use the volume control on the Bryston for all sources. My concern is that there may be a drop in audio quality.
     
  4. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Tony,

    I use a Bryston SP1.7,2 x 7B SST,1 x 6B SST with a Marantz CD7 CD Player and B&W Nautilus 800/803/HTM1 speakers.

    I haven't heard a processor that beats the SP1.7 in bypass mode. Definately set the volume on your power amp and run everything through the processor.

    I tried the other method when I had an integrated amp and it was a right pain and didn't sound any better.
     
  5. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gazza
    Thanks very much for that
     
  6. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gazza
    Do you have a dedicated centre channel . I have found that the only centre channel that matches my OBX-R's is the Proac CCTwo but havent bought it yet because of problems placing it. I have a Loewe Articos as my screen and theres no nowhere to put it without sending my wife over the edge.
    I am hoping that the SP1.7 will be ok with just 4 speakers otherwise I am going to have to move the whole sitting room around.
    Tony
     
  7. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a HTM1 centre speaker, which is quite a large speaker. Although it is from the Nautilus range it does not match the N800s and ruins the front soundstage.

    Eventually I plan to get a third N800 to solve this problem but am about to buy a new Pioneer 50MXE-1 Plasma and a Lumagen scaler.

    I tried using the N800s without the centre channel on PLII and it worked quite well. I think this will depend on the soundstage your speakers create.
     
  8. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Well the Avatar OBX-r's create a very good soundstage , did you try it with 5.1 with no centre speaker
    Tony
     
  9. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try this tonight and let you know.
     
  10. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much , I have all my Hi-Fi system on a dedicated isolation rack. Do you think its important to have the Bryston on a similar rack as well
    Tony
     
  11. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it important to have your cd player, dvd player and amps on a rack. The processor won't benefit to the same degree although I have my SP1.7 on the rack.

    I have my three power amps and centre speaker under my Pioneer 503MXE. My main rack is about 15' away at the side of the room. This keeps the amps close to the speakers and the screen at the correct viewing height.
     
  12. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I think I am going to have to get another equipment rack and find a cabinet to house them before my living room looks like a hifi shop ( wife running out of patience)
    Thanks for all the feedback
    Tony
     
  13. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tony,

    I tried this last night and it didn't sound too bad. Voices still appear to come from the centre of the screen. Turning on the centre certainly improves things but then I notice the tonal mismatch.
     
  14. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Thanks a lot for testing that
    It feels like I can get away without a centre speaker for now.
    If I get a projec tor like I eventually want to then I can look at a centre channel (living room without blackout curtains so may have to wait for a state of the art projector).
    Did you find you missed much of the action without the centre channel or was it just a lack of clarity
    Thanks again for checking it out
    All the best
    Tony
     
  15. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was no information missing, just effects became more obvious without the centre.

    I would agree that you should get your PJ and then add the centre later.

    I was checking out pjs recently but am waiting until I can afford to convert the basement. I just couldn't put up with the drop in contrast with ambient light.

    So I'm ordering another plasma for now.

    Let me know how you get on with the SP1.7 when it arrives.

    Gazza
     
  16. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gazza
    Will do , thanks for al the help
    Which plasma are you going to go for
    All the best
    Tony
     
  17. Peter Baker

    Peter Baker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hi,
    I'm in a similar boat to both of you. I do use a centre speaker, a Ruark Dialogue, which is set to small. This seems pretty seamless with my Auditoriums, and is a reasonably small box which fits on the rack under the TV. I find this to focus dialogue better than using just 4 speakers.
    I also have a room with a lot of ambient light. One wall is 30ft of glass doors with blinds ( which only partially take out the light).
    Nevertheless, I find I can happily watch my PJ in most light conditions. The Infocus may be slightly second to the Sim on quality ( not that I notice once a film starts, I am totally immersed in the image), but it really scores on brightness of image.
    Let me know how you get on with the Bryston.
    Regards
    Peter
     
  18. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Peter
    It should arrive in the next 10 days so will do
    The problem I have with the centre speaker is that it sits on the loewe motorised stand so no room for the centre speaker
    Thats why I'm thinking about getting a projector. I think if I get a very good screen then ambient light should be ok
    It will obviously never be as good as a dedicated blackout room
    but for domestic harmony it has to fit in with the rest of the sitting room
    All the best
    Tony
     

Share This Page

Loading...