1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1x1 mapping on a plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Twan1, Dec 30, 2004.

1. Twan1

Twan1
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    hiya all, (not sure if this is in the right place)

but on a few of the threads i've seen people mention getting 1x1 mapping.

I'm really new to this but can anyone tell me what this is????

Thanks
    Anton

2. loonatic

loonatic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    Basically it’s sending the display device its native resolution from either an external scaler or a HTPC to bypass the devices internal deinterlacer and scaler to hopefully provide a better image as the external processing should be superior to that of the display device.

Cheers, Lee

3. Twan1

Twan1
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    thanks Lee,
    i think i get you! as thats the main reason im getting my arcam dv88 dvd player sdi modified to run into something like a lumagen or crystalio.
    i noticed that you have a pio 50mxe, im thinking of getting one, can you really get a stunning picture on a 50" plasma as i know many previous models i've not been to impressed with (tho never seen used with an external scaler to be fair) Also when usuing an good scaler is it true you can get rid of the letterbox black bars on the screen but keep the aspect ratio and quality?
    Thanks
    Anton

4. loonatic

loonatic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yeah SDI in and DVI out would be the ideal as then you are keeping everything digital with no nasty AD or DA conversion steps.

I have my Sky+ box SDI modded and will be getting my 3910 done shortly.