1TB Upgrade for Samsung Sky HD+ Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Korum, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    I'm looking for a compatible 1TB Hard Drive for a Samsung Sky HD+ Box. This has been covered before but all the information I can find is a few years old and all the Hard Drive mentioned have been discontinued.

    I know Samsung boxws are temperamental about which HDD's they like but does anyone know of recent models that will work OK?:thumbsup:
     
  2. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    It might be of interest to Samsung owners that I have fitted a 1tb WD10EARX hard drive in my box tonight and it is working perfectly. I got this inside a Western Digital elements external drive from Staples for £49. So at the moment I'm very pleased with the upgrade.

    One question, a rough estimate is that I'll have around 100-120 hours of HD storage, does this sound about right?, how much is allocated to anytime when you do a self install these days?
     
  3. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    It should reserve the same amount as it did with the old drive, and it's 4gB to an hour of HD.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013
  4. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    I've just recorded a near two hour HD film and its only used 1% so I'll have about 180-200 hours of HD recording which is excellent.:thumbsup:
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    It would have shown 1% if you'd recorded only one minute - the figure means very little.
     
  6. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    Yeah I realise that but a 2 hour HD movie used to show up as 4% and now it hasn't gone over 1% so I'm basing the storage on it's around 4 times more:thumbsup:
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    And at 4gB an hour the arithmetic is about right.:smashin:
     
  8. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    Just watched a movie, no skipping, lip sync or errors and the box comes out of standby with no problems. Also the WD10EARX sounds very quiet so looking really good for compatibility so far.
     

Share This Page

Loading...