1st ever build - i5 gaming rig - advice needed

Jiggerbyte

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm just planning my first ever build. I have no experience whatsoever other than replacing a graphics card a few years ago :)

I want to build this machine for gaming and before i purchase the parts I just want to make sure they are all compatible!

I also wanna make sure that it will be able to play top line games for a while and doesnt get dated quickly and will be easily upgradeable in the future.

All advice is welcome and if you can spot any parts that I could get cheaper or improve on then I would be really
grateful! Thanks in advance from a complete novice :hiya:

Components****

1 xCasecom 6788 Black Mid Tower Case with Full Black Interior/Exterior 120mm Blue LED Front Fan - No PSU172779£21.73£21.73
Casecom 6788 Black Mid Tower Case with Full Black Interior/Exterior 120mm Blue LED Front Fan - No PSU £21.73

Intel Core i5 661 3.33GHz Socket 1156 4MB L3 Cache Retail Box Processor - £130.70

MSI GT240 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI Out PCI-E Graphics Card - £63.44

Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz i5 Memory Kit CL9 1.5V - £68.33

Gigabyte GA-P55-US3L P55 Socket 1156 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard - £61.58

Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 16MB Cache - OEM Caviar Blue - £31.82

LG GH22LS50 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer & RAM Burner + LightScribe Black Bare Drive OEM - £16.25

Extra Value Titan 650W Neon PSU - 12cm Fan, 20+4pin, 1x SATA, 1x PCI-E - £23.14

D-Link AirPlus-G DWL-G510 Wireless PCI Adapter - £15.31

Total cost of setup including VAT @ £76.85 = £515.74

All parts are from ebuyer

20 views and not one person could even offer a little smidge of advice :lease:

By the way Im thinking about changing the graphics card to a XFX HD 4770 512MB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDCP HDTV out PCI-E Graphics Card. Thoughts?

looks decent and i cant see no compatibility problems but i'd seriously think about expanding your budget for a better gpu and psu.