1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1920 and Z2 - No HDMI picture

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dr no, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    :lease:

    Need help please
    Just bought Denon 1920(Multiregion) from Richer sound and connected to my Sanyo Z2, via DVI to HDMI lead, But no HDMI picture. It comes for 1-2 seconds and dissappears for next 5 seconds and so on.

    What a dissapointment. I played with all settings and managed get Component prog, pictures OK but no digital.

    I suspect HDCP issues. But my Z2 is HDCP compliant!
    Anyone with any ideas or are these two machines just incompatible? :lease:
     
  2. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,468
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    Bad cable is quite likely.

    T.
     
  3. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    But the picture appears to come and go without any lead disturbance. Nobody else on the forum appears to have any problems like this though.
     
  4. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,468
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    Still doesn't mean it's not your lead. I realise because it comes and goes that you would think moving the lead would make a difference. But, it being digital, it wouldn't necessarily make any difference like moving an intermittent analogue cable would.

    I'm not saying it is your cable, but it's worth checking before anything else. Also, if you are using any HDMI to DVI adaptor.

    What make & length of lead is it?

    T.
     
  5. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    I was using a Techlink 3mm HDMI-DVI cable. I've since tried replacing the lead with another from Maplins and still the same problem.

    I'm going to replace the player tomorrow.

    Any other ideas
     
  6. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Have you pressed the HDMI button on the front so that the light is on?

    (though I suspect if you had not you would see no pic at all)
     
  7. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    yep even with the HDMI button pressed with the differing resolutions it stii doesn't work. The picture flashes on and off. More off than on. I wonder f it's a firmware issue?
     
  8. Techno Slave

    Techno Slave
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm useing a Denon 1920 with original firmware on a Z2 with no problems.

    Edit: Cableing is a 5 Mt Lindy DVI with a QED HDMI-DVI adaptor
     
  9. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    Is yours a multiregion? What firmware version is yours? I don't know what mine is. I'm going to try change my player tomorrow and see if that helps. Hope Richer sounds in Watford have some in stock.
     
  10. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    Techno Slave

    Did you have any problems with yours? like some of other probs mentioned in the forum about the 1920 and Z2
     
  11. Techno Slave

    Techno Slave
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant say Ive noticed any faults,I try not to look for them ;)
     
  12. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the HDMI connection is OK, then the red HDMI led should not flash. So if the LED is not flashing but if your pciture still goes on/off , then sound it's the problem with the player.
     
  13. lordnoize

    lordnoize
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this problem on saturday, but I pressed the HDMI button on the denon and it came on fine
     
  14. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Try a non copy protected disc so HDCP is not triggered - some players only use HDCP if the disc is copy protected - I don't know if the Denon is one of these. Common examples of non copy protected discs are Digital Video Essentials and some/all of the Lord of the Rings discs.

    If the non CP discs play, then the problem related to HDCP. This does not rule out a cable issue as I have been involved in an issue whereby an imperfect mechanical connections between a DVI plug and socket has caused intermittent errors that manifest as an HDCP incompatibility - it affected the reliability of the two way HDCP handshaking. Use of a HDMI/DVI adaptor had made the problem worse due to the extra weight of the adaptor. I also know of people who have had this problem in HDMI only scenarios. Whilst the cable was not faulty, slight design differences have affected the reliability of the particular combination - so swapping with another cable using the same type of plug also exhibited the problem. ie replacing a cable with an identical alternative would also exhibit the same problem - this may lead you to believe that another component was at fault when infact another design of cable may rectify the problem.

    -Ian
     
  15. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    Ian

    Sent wifey to change DVD player to see if player is faulty. But Richer sounds tested HDMI connection with a plasma and it was OK. So they 'blagged' her off with maybe my 'older' Z2 cannot handle 720p but 750 only. They refunded her the money instead.

    I know the Z2 can handle 720p because it says so in the manual!
    And you guy's in the forum are using the 1920 with the Z2.

    Now I'm without the DVD player I wanted :suicide:
    So what now?
     
  16. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    Update so far:

    - tried my Z2 with friends 3910 with same HDMI - DVI lead --> works fine
    - managed to get another Denon 1920 today but same problem again. Bl*****dy picture keeps coming and going.

    Oddly enough if I keep pressing the HDMI button fast then it stays until I stop!

    looks like I may have to return it , again.Do'h
    Unless one of you chaps can think of something?
     
  17. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,468
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    Waled very sorry to hear this. How about posting in the DLP/LCD projectors forum? Members like Gordon@convergent might be able to shed some light on the problem. I'm not technical, but perhaps the 1920 isn't giving as strong or stable output as the 3910. Whether there is anything you could do about this I don't know.

    Good luck,

    T.
     
  18. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    Thanks Timbo21.

    I'll do that.
     
  19. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    changed 1920 for samsung 950 - everything working now
    except for getting a 4:3 picture size 0n 720p HDMI
    I'll post this query in new thread
     
  20. CosmicAlien

    CosmicAlien
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everybody,

    got the same problem with a Z2 (Firmware 1.06) and the Denon 1920 (lastest Firmware).

    Problem persists with all DVDs (even selfmade) and the onscreen menu as well.

    Buying a bigger Denon just to get the HDMI port working is not an option :-(

    I might consider upgrading to the Sanyo Z3 and get some improvements, but it still means that the devices are not compatible and not HDCP compliant.

    The cable works fine, I have a computer hooked up via some DVI/HDMI adapters and always get a picture via HDCP connection.

    Found the same problem here in the german beisammen.de board, but still no solution.
     
  21. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    HDCP is controlled by the source. If the source doesn't know about HDCP, ie a PC, then HDCP will not be used, even if the display is HDCP compliant.
     
  22. SuperSeven

    SuperSeven
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Is there anyway of finding out a player's firmware version?
     
  23. sallyann

    sallyann
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with Denon1920 HDMI into Viewpia TV DVI socket. I returned the Denon and the shop tested it ok but replaced it. I had the same problem with the second DVD player. I replaced the cable - still no joy. Spoke to the TV supplier who advised me that there is some incompatibility between certain DVD players with HDMI and DVI and suggested I use component!
     
  24. CosmicAlien

    CosmicAlien
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,


    just got back from the dealer (where I bought the Sanyo Z2)
    He tested another Denon 1920 and different cable, he also upgraded the Z2 Firmware to 1.8
    Nothing worked

    The Sanyo Z2 is not compatible with the Denon 1920 via HDMI
     
  25. dr no

    dr no
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,109
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,084
    So it is as I thought! huh!
    Drove me potty with frustation until I went for a Samsung in the end
    What will you go for now?
     
  26. jamiev

    jamiev
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +36
    thanks for letting us know.
    i was thinking of upgrading my player!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...