18 dayton ultimax box design help!!

Tnturk

Novice Member
Hey guys first time on here. Im in the finishing stages of my home theater and need some advice on a sub box enclosure.

After extensive research I feel the Ultimax 18" running on the inuke 3000 will be the best option for me and my budget.

I was looking at "Full Marty" box designs but I actually don't know too mush other than they can hit low and are good for home theaters.

I'm limited to a box of 22" high by 55" wide and around 24" deep but the depth is not too big of a concern as it can be adjusted. Id prefer that the height and with be as close as possible as the box will sit in a pre-build wall cavity.

The end wall is where the screen will be mounted and the hole in the wall to the right is where the box will go with an equipment rack above it.

Also I'm a woodshop teacher so if you want to suggest something difficult to build please do so. If it will sound better Im up for anything.
box measurements.jpg

Attachments

• theater.jpg
    theater.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 130

angliaboy

Have you got to grips with or downloaded WinISD to model it? Im not too great with ported designs so someone else I'm sure could advise better on the best size/output for it.

But the dimensions you have to go with give you a good sized box which gives the ultimax some good breathing room. Is it mainly going to be for Movie usage?

Also have you measured the response in any way from that position in the room with a sub before deciding it will go there? Only asking because it may take some EQ to get the best of it if you are limited with placement options.

Do you have any DSP devices that will be able to EQ or an antimode or anything like that?

Tnturk

Novice Member