• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

17" mikomi, beko or jvc????

ficko

Established Member
Hi all,

newbie here about to take first steps into the lcd world *gulp*. looking for some advice from you professionals.

i'm looking for a low cost 17" w/s lcd around £250 -£300 from the high street. to be used in my 2nd lounge, mostly terrestrial tv and DVD's including NTSC DVD's. will be used a reasonable amount.

i'm looking at the beko @ £250 from tesco, here.......
http://www.beko.co.uk/default.asp?docId=12760&productGroupId=12729&ff=1

or the mikomi @ £250 from argos here....
http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produ...ns>C$cip=36787.LCD+flat+panel+televisions.htm

OR...

i could spend an extra £60 odd quid for a new JVC LT-17C50 at £315 at a local shop here......
http://audiovisual.kelkoo.co.uk/b/a/ps_12241849/100311823.html

any thoughts? is it worth me paying the extra?

cheers in advance.

ficko

Established Member
cheers spidey.

may well look into that as the co-op have just sold the last jvc. am still tempted to pay a little more for a decent make though.

whats the sound on it like? tinny? also, specs state that it has a hdtv decoder. without sounding too much like a donkey, i assume this means it can pick up hdtv resolution when available.

will pop into currys later me thinks :)

Skeletal

Standard Member
Check out the Wharfedale 17 inch widescreen with digital freeview tuner for £300 at Argos. There have been a few good reports in these forums. The first one I bought had dodgy sound after about 20-30 min, but to cut a long story short (it’s in another post if you’re interested!) I bought a second one yesterday which seems to be OK.