16:9 switching on VCRs

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by GlennP, Dec 5, 2003.

Tags:
  1. GlennP

GlennP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I play a widescreen video on a VCR which has automatic 16:9 switching how will it display on my 4:3 TV? Someone has told me that the automatic switching will force the display into 4:3 mode, squeezing the widescreen frame into full frame. Is this true or will it play back in letterbox format? If so , is there any other way around the problem? I'm not an electronics expert so don''t want to cut into the scart cable and remove the connection to pin 8. I suppose I could force the VCR into playback via the RF loop rather than scart but then I would loose out on picture quality and stereo sound. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Kevo

Kevo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +146
    Yes, it will be squeezed into a full frame making everything look unnaturally thin.

The WS switching signal has nothing to do with it. Whether it's recorded or not, this is how it'll be displayed on a 4:3 TV.
    The WS signal is only of use to WS TVs.

The only way to play in letter box mode is to record in this mode from the source. i.e. set the stb to letter box mode.

3. GlennP

GlennP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Kevo but I'm still confused.

If the WS switching has nothing to do with it and only affects WS TVs how come my old VCR plays back WS videos in letterbox format on my 4:3 TV.

4. Kevo

Kevo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +146
    Then you must have an 'anamorphic mode' on your 4:3 TV. This will squash the image down back to it's original shape and produce black bars top and bottom.

5. GlennP

GlennP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0