1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

16:9 mode

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Geoffc10, Mar 12, 2002.

1. Geoffc10

Geoffc10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, guys and gals,

What is the difference between 16:9 and 16:9 true panel on lcd projectors. I was thinking about getting the Sanyo PLV30 but its only got 16:9 mode. I now read about the Panny AE1000 with true 16:9. Which is better, and what would i be missing picture wise on a 16:9 screen??.

2. nigel_williams

nigel_williams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm no expert on Sanyo but I think the panel on the projector is 4:3 format, 800x600 therefore 16x9 mode only.

The Panasonic has a 16:9 format 858x484 LCD panel so the full 484 lines can be used for picture information.

3. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,025
    People's perception of size is determined more by height than by width. For example, a person's head which just fits into a 4:3 picture will be the same size as the same head on a 16x9 or wider picture, provided the picture's height is the same.

In order to fit a 16x9 image into a 4x3 panel, you have to reduce the image height. That is what 16x9 MODE does. Depending on your screen setup and the zoom abilities on the projector, this may mean that 16x9 images are "smaller" (by the above definition) than 4x3 ones. Or, of course you could always zoom the image up to the same height.

Which brings me to the second and more important point. It's more important because most movies (and DVDs) have aspect ratios wider than 4:3.