150inch screen dilemma and maybe wrong projector coice?

Zeratul

Standard Member
Hello all. First of all, I'm new in all this projector thing, I'm an passionate audiophile, and after that kind of a videophile so to say, i like to see a really good picture. I had an Panasonic ST60 plasma, so i know what a good picture is and I'm used to it, especially the magic of that plasma panel, that almost infinite blacks, contrast, color accuracy and saturation, very realistic almost 3d felling that it gives you, no motion blur, viewing angle etc. Ive seen better only on OLED TVs. I used it as a PC monitor, mostly for movies and PC games, i don't watch TV at all so the projector would be used the same way basically. It is very important for me when it comes to the projector story that there will be not much motion blur, like on old LCD TVs for example, i don't expect plasma motion blur specs, but i would not like to see much of it. There were some input lag but I'm not a hardcore gamer so it didn't bother me, also i can make my room to be almost completely dark with no lights, so screen glare from the glass that covers the panel didn't pose a problem. I especially say that my room can be all most all black with no ambient light because i know that is very important in the projector field. So you probably got the point, I'm used to a very good picture quality all ready. I know that i wont get that with a projector especially not with this one, maybe not even the half of that quality, but I'm moving to a bigger room, so I'm willing to sacrifice picture quality for a 150% larger diagonal and about 500% larger viewing area for watching movies and playing games mostly.