1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

14:9 on Sky

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by GWalmsley, Nov 24, 2002.

  1. GWalmsley

    GWalmsley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have noticed more channels on Sky are now broadcasting in 14:9 (small black bars top and bottom).

    My old Philips Matchline used to have a 14:9 mode but now have I changed to an NEC 42MP3 I don't seem to have one.

    Does anyone know if it is possible to set the NEC 42MP3 to view 14:9 correctly?

    Thanks

    Graham
     
  2. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    14:9 is not the mode where you have black bars at the top and bottom.

    Black bars at top and bottom is a certain aspect ratio being shown. for example 2.35:1 1.85:1 etc etc

    14:9 mode is where black bars are shown on the left & right hand side of the picture.
     
  3. DaveCheltenham

    DaveCheltenham
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +47
    Not on anything I have seen aRCaM. 14:9 is the compromise mode when a 16:9 source is being shown on 4:3. Having a cut-off at the top and bottom changes the ratio.

    Because of how many 4:3 sets are adjusted, it is not very noticeable. As GWalmsley said, on some widescreen sets, there is a 14:9 zoom to get rid of the top and bottom bars and have reduced side ones instead but some do not.
     
  4. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chaps...

    You are both right, on a 4:3 telly, the bars are very slight, top and bottom.

    On my Panasonic plasma using the 16:9 ratio, the bars are left and right, but not as wide as with 4:3.
     
  5. GWalmsley

    GWalmsley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I don't know what I am seeing then. I have the NEC 32MP3 set to 'full' which according to the manual is 16:9.

    My Sky+ is set to 16:9 (just checked) and at the time of writing (18:48) I am seeing blank bars top and bottom on the Sci-Fi channel.

    My Sky+ is in RGB mode and is connected via an IXOS Scart to 4 BNC cable to the RGB BNC inputs on the NEC.

    I don't think it is a sync issue because not all channels are showing the black bars.

    Graham :(
     
  6. DaveCheltenham

    DaveCheltenham
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +47
    GWalmsley - I see the same for a 14:9 program expanded to 16:9. Just going to 16:9 only expands the picture horizontally and not vertically. To do that, you need a Zoom setting which your set may not have got.

    Many WS sets have 2; both to lose the top and bottom black bars when a basic 4:3 picture is being transmitted in Letterbox 14:9 or 16:9. Hope this is clearer.
     
  7. GWalmsley

    GWalmsley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, Thanks.

    I have two modes on the NEC, Stadium and Zoom, I am sure one will fix it.

    Graham
     
  8. martintyler

    martintyler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    The people seeing bars at top and bottom on a widescreen display are obviously viewing the channel in some kind of zoom mode.

    If you are watching a 4:3 program on sky and you have it zoomed/stretched/whatever, to fill the screen, when it goes to an advert in 14:9 and you dont change mode you will have black bars at the top and bottom.

    My Philips 32" CRT has a mode for it, but not my fujitsu plasma
     
  9. GWalmsley

    GWalmsley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I am viewing everything in 'full' mode which is 16:9 without any zoom etc. The picture is stretched to fill the screen without any loss of image.

    For me to see black bars top and bottom they must be being broadcast.

    I have tried using the 'zoom' mode but I end up with half the logos at the top of the screen which looks awful.

    Graham
     

Share This Page

Loading...