12v trigger on an HCPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dave48, Oct 6, 2002.

  1. dave48

    dave48
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have a 5 channel power amp that has the facility to be put into standby via a 12v trigger, e.g. from a suitable pre-pro. Unfortunately I cannot afford the matching pre-pro (since it is £2.5K) and I am anyway aiming to use my HCPC to do everything that the pre-pro is supposed to do.

    Is there any way of setting up an HCPC so that it can handle 12v triggers? I presume this would also be useful in the future for controlling projection screens etc. etc.

    Dave48
     
  2. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    How about this? I think it's for mains switching rather than 12V, but it may do the job (and a lot more besides - control lights etc too?). They may have other kits of a similar nature.
     
  3. KarlRobinson

    KarlRobinson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +0
    Surely if you need to output a 12v on/off from a pc you can just run the +12 from the powersupply to trigger the switch.
     
  4. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dave

    Did you find a solution to the 12v trigger problem?

    Which method did you use, relay or direct from the PC power supply.

    Has anyone solved this problem? Would X10 work?
     
  5. dave48

    dave48
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +3
    No - I have sort of given up on this one, since I didn't find an easy solution where I would have had confidence in not blowing up my power amp! If there is a good solution for this out there - I'd still be very interested.

    Dave
     
  6. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen a multi-way power block with a 12v trigger input- when this is activated it switches on the plugs.

    Not sure where this is available, but will something like that do?
     
  7. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    That would probably do the trick, but the problem is you really need a delay mechanism of some kind in order to prevent a collosal "thump" when your soundcard is initialised by the O/S. Again, when you turn the PC off you really want the amp to have been off for a while already in order to not rape your gear and bust your eardrums.

    MuFu.
     
  8. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's my prob at the moment. I built a 4 channel power amp for the surround channels, and added a relay to mute the outputs. This is triggered by the 5V rail from the PC. I've added a 555 delay circuit with the relay, so it isn't triggered until 10 seconds or so after the PC fires up. All well and good - but shut down is still an issue.

    I'm still considering one of those PC controlled power relay boards, as I could then control lights etc too.
     
  9. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looking at the Cyrus web site, they have a power amp which switches from standby to on when it senses a signal. Would this solve the problem when connecting directly to a HTPC sound card?

    Would you still have a "thump" each time the amp powered up?
     
  10. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Might do the job, but the power down thump would still be a prob, I'd think.
     
  11. Barbarosa

    Barbarosa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Resurrecting an old thread.

    I presume that things have moved on in the past two years. Did anyone come up with a solution to the problem?

    Red
     
  12. SMooV

    SMooV
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Tayside
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might provide a suitable option:

    Masterplug Master Series Intelligent Energy Saving Extension

    • 8 socket extension lead with surge protection.
    • 3m cable.
    • Automatically cuts power to 5 slave sockets when the master is turned off. ;)
    • 2 sockets remain live for connection of fax machines or video recorders.
    • Includes telecom/modem/ethernet and broadband surge protection.
    • Audible surge alarm with power on/slave on indicators.
    • Ideal for small office/home office or audio video equipment.
    • UK £5,000 connected equipment warranty.
    Si.
     
  13. Hawklan

    Hawklan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,758
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +317
    Hi

    My cheap solution

    Keep the amp turned on
    Mute the sound
    No thumps and 5K will cover the increased electricity costs

    RON
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice