12v trigger....help!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by khandley84, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. khandley84

    khandley84
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys

    Looking for a bit of help... I know there are lots of topics on here as to how to automate a screen from a 12v trigger. I have the opposite problem, I've just changed a BenQ w1070+ for an Epson EH-Tw5200 which I didn't realise had no 12v trigger out.

    Is there a quick fix alternative to give me a 12v out when the projector comes on. I currently have the 3.5mm jack and power cable running to my ceiling mount as per picture.

    Cheers

    Kev

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1434390007.305723.jpg
     
  2. razy60

    razy60
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +322
    In one of the threads I was reading, the Sony vpl-hw40es owners thread I think, someone had a similar issue they used a harmony remote or similar which was set so that when the PJ was switched on it also set the screen to run. Hope it helps.
     
  3. mca

    mca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    I wonder if you could use the USB socket on the back? Assuming the USB socket gets power once the unit is on then you could use a DC-DC converter (USB plug-in like this here) and then you'd also need to connect a jack socket to that to connect onto you existing cable. It also assumes the power output required by the screen is a constant voltage and not a pulse. If constant then I'd assume the screen rolls back up once the power goes. Don't know for sure at all, just throwing the idea out there...
     
  4. paulr2006

    paulr2006
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9,535
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +2,508
    Pretty sure the USB socket would be useless as apart from anything else USB is 5 volts
     
  5. mca

    mca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    Oh, why's that?

    I did mention a DC-DC converter...
     
  6. paulr2006

    paulr2006
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9,535
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +2,508
    Sorry did not even realise one existed! however I would be surprised if it could offer sufficient current from a USB socket? are they not usually very low current?:)
     
  7. mca

    mca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    From memory a USB port is supposed to supply 500mA but, yes, that would probably be the issue I suspect.

    I'm sure the DC-DC converter will take a fair amount of that current away in order to more than double the voltage but I don't know how much would be left. Then there would be the less available to use to send down the cable over whatever distance it is and be used by the load (the screen) at the other end.

    That Epson does have two USB sockets so potentially more power available but who knows... it was just an idea... may be of use in other situations...
     
  8. meridianman

    meridianman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +3
    you need to get a sense plug , normaly you would use one to say switch all your monitors and printers ect off when you turn your pc off , see link below

    IntelliPlug from HomeEnergySaving.co.uk

    Then when you turn your projector on the unit senses the current draw and turns the other sockets on , into which you plug a 12v psu and connect this to your trigger cable and viola you have an automatic trigger!!

    If you need assistance on the wiring post back.

    Meridianman
     
  9. khandley84

    khandley84
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Meridianman. That's the first workable solution other than completely re-wiring my setup to make use of an IR/RF transmitter and receiver...

    I had hoped to get some kind of 'in line' solution, but I don't think such a thing exists.

    Cheers for all replies!
     

Share This Page

Loading...