Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

1280 x 720 to projector (DVI) and 1024 x 768 to plasma (VGA) , possible?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by zAndy1, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,996
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,432
    Is it possible to do that? Have one resolution for a projector via DVI and another resolution for a plasma over VGA from the same graphics card (ATI radeon 9600)?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  2. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +332
    Andy,

    AFAIK, no it is not possible.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  3. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Only if you dont use clone mode, you can extend the desktop the way you describe or use hot keys to switch the primary monitor using clone mode.
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,996
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,432
    Thanks guys

    Andy.
     
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    If only :cool: . Still can't get mine working like this even though it used to a few months back. I'm sure it was a Catalyst upgrade that knackered it but even going back to v3.6 it still refuses to work.

    2 displays - YES
    Different resolutions - NO :thumbsdow

    Good luck.
     
  6. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have managed to get this to run fine using NVidia drivers on my 9000 IIRC, and other cards. Put the mode to spanning desktop, and you can have any sort of resolutions you want on either screen, and powerstrip can happily play with either setting.

    i used to use 1280x1024 on my DVI as main, and 858x480 on my VGA out as 2ndary to a ptae100. Good luck it is possible!!!! (though maybe you may need a different card - it is worth it for sure though!)

    Stu
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    I don't like extended desktop though. I want to use clone mode and it used to work but then stopped following a Catalyst upgrade. Never managed to get it back since :(
     
  8. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    ahh, i got ya, but using spanned desktop it should be fine no?

    I must admit, i never tried it with cloned desktop, as there was no need, the proj was films, and games alone. you cant get anything useful done at 858x480 :D :D
     
  9. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Agreed, but with a 1280x720 pj I often browse on it. Most annoying part is it used to work so I know it is (was) possible.
     
  10. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    lol @ these vexatious PC's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice