1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1280 x 720 to projector (DVI) and 1024 x 768 to plasma (VGA) , possible?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by zAndy1, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,369
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,487
    Is it possible to do that? Have one resolution for a projector via DVI and another resolution for a plasma over VGA from the same graphics card (ATI radeon 9600)?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  2. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +288
    Andy,

    AFAIK, no it is not possible.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  3. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Only if you dont use clone mode, you can extend the desktop the way you describe or use hot keys to switch the primary monitor using clone mode.
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,369
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,487
    Thanks guys

    Andy.
     
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    If only :cool: . Still can't get mine working like this even though it used to a few months back. I'm sure it was a Catalyst upgrade that knackered it but even going back to v3.6 it still refuses to work.

    2 displays - YES
    Different resolutions - NO :thumbsdow

    Good luck.
     
  6. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have managed to get this to run fine using NVidia drivers on my 9000 IIRC, and other cards. Put the mode to spanning desktop, and you can have any sort of resolutions you want on either screen, and powerstrip can happily play with either setting.

    i used to use 1280x1024 on my DVI as main, and 858x480 on my VGA out as 2ndary to a ptae100. Good luck it is possible!!!! (though maybe you may need a different card - it is worth it for sure though!)

    Stu
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I don't like extended desktop though. I want to use clone mode and it used to work but then stopped following a Catalyst upgrade. Never managed to get it back since :(
     
  8. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    ahh, i got ya, but using spanned desktop it should be fine no?

    I must admit, i never tried it with cloned desktop, as there was no need, the proj was films, and games alone. you cant get anything useful done at 858x480 :D :D
     
  9. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Agreed, but with a 1280x720 pj I often browse on it. Most annoying part is it used to work so I know it is (was) possible.
     
  10. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    lol @ these vexatious PC's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...