1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1280 too wide for LCD ???

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by murts, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. murts

    murts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Okay so my Samsung LE23R41B has a resolution of 1280x720.
    I've got 2 PCs connected on a KVM switchbox.

    PC 1 has onboard graphics, nearest mode of 1280x768, this looks good on the LCD.

    PC 2 has ATI Radeon 9200, nearest mode again 1280x768, this is too wide. i.e. I have to scroll the display by moving the mouse off screen to see either edge. I'm running XP, if you have the 'Start Menu' visible you can't see any of the icons in the 'time' tool bar on the opposite side, and visa versa. It looks too wide by about a third, we are not talking a couple of pixels here.

    How can 1280 but the right size on one PC but too wide on the other ? Isn't 1280 pixels 1280 pixels ?

    Any advice welcome.
     
  2. murts

    murts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's okay, you can all stop worrying, I've solved it.

    Under some advanced settings on the Radeon it was stuck at 1360x768, I've changed it to 1280x768, with a bit of resizing it all looks fine.

    I'm sure you'll all sleep a lot better tonight knowing the panic is over.
     
  3. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I could be wrong, but are you sure the resolution isn't 1366x768? I've never seen an LCD TV with a vertical resolution of 720 before.
     
  4. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    All the information that I have on this display is that it is 1280x768 ie 15:9 - W-XGA.

    -Ian
     
  5. murts

    murts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The manual claims...
    1280x720 for the LE23R41B (mine)
    and
    1388x768 for the LE23R51B

    It is quite odd though my pc resolution is on 1280x768 and it fits perfectly.
     
  6. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure I've seen this before!!

    Ben
     
  7. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    That'd be good - I'd rather have 720p resolution exactly instead of having to trip the scaler.
     
  8. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know exactly what you mean.

    I think 26" 720P screens are much more common mind you.. that and 15:9 1280x768 screens.

    1366x768 seems more the norm for 32" ones.

    I've actually discussed this in a separate thread.. conclusion was that due to production costs and the misconceptions that more is definitely better, manufacturers are making screens that need to scale all sources it receives.

    Ben
     
  9. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Except this one which is from the Samsung web site claiming 1366x768.

    So that is 4 different resolutions being mentioned for this set:

    1366x768 Samsung Dutch web site
    1280x760 Samsung Dutch manual - probably a typo from the source I guess its really 1280x768
    1280x720 Samsung UK manual
    1280x768 most other information

    -Ian
     
  10. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe the samsung guys have made a screen that can change the number of pixels it has :rotfl:

    Ben
     
  11. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how did you get that res to start with on the radeon? - i'd like to have it but so far only have 1280x720!
     

Share This Page

Loading...