1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

10m USB cable req.

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Taz, Nov 24, 2002.

  1. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know of a cheap supplier for a 10m USB cable?

    Or if anyone has one laying around they want to sell???


    Thanks


    Taz.:cool:
     
  2. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Isn't there a limit of around 3m for USB - or am I imagining it?
     
  3. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yeah, you need a repeater over 5m I think.
     
  4. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
  5. squishysdomain

    squishysdomain
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    USB has a fixed limit of 5metres due to the round trip delay between the host and the slave. The way to get around this (as already suggested) is to use a HUB, which retimes the signals for you. Gets a little more expensive though.
     
  6. JRHAY72

    JRHAY72
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    www.keene-electronics.co.uk

    They sell a "Powered 5m USB Extension Cable" for £19.99 (Product Code: USBXT5).

    Add a normal 5m USB cable to this (which they also sell for £8.99) and you're away.

    Delivery is £2 for the lot.

    Have used these guys before and they are very good.


    Hope this helps!
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You guys are all technically right, but quite a few USB devices of my aquaintance are fussy about the lenght of their cable, and do not get recognised at 5m, so if you have trouble of that nature with a long cable, consider yourself warned, there's no cure I've found. WinTV USB being the worst case in point. Hub or no hub, powered lead, whatever, it just doesn't work if it's more than 2m.
     
  8. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that the Hauppage FTA box?


    Taz.:cool:
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Negative, analogue. I think in this case it may be a bandwidth problem, my hub is on the end of a 5m cable, so I can move the laptop around. If I put it on a shorter one I get less USB error messages. There's an extigy, printer and network on my hub, and if I plug in the webcam it all goes pear shaped... I have to use the 2nd usb port for that, or the wintv box. I might try a PC card USB adapter and ditch the hub.
     

Share This Page

Loading...