Question 1080p vs 4k on HT3550?

carleton83

Novice Member
Hi Everyone! I've enjoyed this forum while doing research, and thought I would sign up!

I bought an HT3550 projector as my first projector last year, and have really been enjoying it. But I thought I would see a big difference between 1080p blu-rays and 4k blu-rays.

But I can't! I even put in both the 1080p HD and 4k UHD discs of the new Blade Runner movie, and they look identical to me. Not that I'm an expert, but thankfully, they both look really good! SD discs look pretty fuzzy and bland.

I'm sitting 6.5' away from a 96" screen, and have 20/20 vision. I'm playing the DVDs on an Xbox One S...sounds like a 4k dvd player might be better, but I'm not sure how much?

I hear all the talk about how amazing 4k is vs 1080p, so I'm wondering if I'm the only one experiencing them looking almost identical?

Thank you in advance for any replies or advice! :)

-Carleton

Last edited:

Luminated67

Distinguished Member
I'm with you on this one, with regards to sharpness I have watched and compared all on my 4K Blurays I have which is only a limited number and I don't see the 4K version being sharper than the regular disc but colours are different if your machine can see the wider colour range.

I wonder is this true for an actual native 4K machine?

nadg63

Whilst the pic quality difference is sometimes negligible, on a 4K UHD disc the audio quality does tend to be much better.

carleton83

Novice Member
Awesome, thank you guys for the feedback! I'll keep my ears open for the audio track difference between the two formats as well!

Reading some of the other threads sounds like actually seeing a major difference with 4k discs might mean spending $10k+ on a projector...so as long as I never see one of those fancy pictures, I won't know what I'm missing. :)

Does anyone know if there may be a measurable difference between a standalone 4k DVD player vs an Xbox? I believe my projector has HDR10.