1080p from Xbox 360?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by indie1982, Dec 20, 2006.

Tags:
  1. indie1982

    indie1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've read a load of threads here saying that the Sony KDL-40W2000 will accept a 1080p signal via VGA from an Xbox 360.

    Now I've not actually got a 360 but i'm thinking of buying one. In Virgin today I noticed that all of the games that support 1080 all say 1080i and none of them say 1080p.

    So is there much point buying the VGA cable or would the component cable be just as good?
     
  2. sudaya

    sudaya
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont go for the Sharp, especially not the LC-42 XD1E.

    Component is as good as VGA, no big difference. (same output from xbox360)
    But please check the inputs from your TV so it accepts 1080P on component or VGA, microsoft will not make a hdmi cable in near future and you will end up with only 1080i or 720p.

    Oh and Halo 3 and GoW and more are 1080p actually, someone took screenshots from his Tatung 42EMGI wich accepts 1080p on all inputs.
    If only it had better contrast ratio (1:1000 to low)
     
  3. indie1982

    indie1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've got a W2000 and already know that it accepts 1080p via VGA albeit unofficially.

    What do you mean by Halo3 and GoW are actually 1080p? On the back of the boxes I looked at today it definitely said 1080i. Do you mean that it may say 1080i on the box but it will work at 1080p?
     
  4. Mark Spanner

    Mark Spanner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    The 360 recently got an update so it now supports 1080p output - not long enough for software companies to start putting the resolution on game boxes.

    There does appear to be a difference between the VGA & component - many people say that the VGA tends to have a sharper picture & no overscan/underscan. However compared to the component the colours appear slightly washed out.
    If you want to see some pictures here is a nice link.
     
  5. salubrious_k

    salubrious_k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    At the moment there are no games on the 360 that output 1080p natively. So if you do get a 1080p panel then as far as games are concerned it is just a question of which scaler do you want to use, the TV's scaler or the 360's scaler... I'm using the 360's scaler as I'm inputting 1920x1080 into my W2000.

    However it is a different thing if you are thinking of getting the HD-DVD addon. This will output at (native) 1080p over VGA, and although I haven't proved it myself, the current experimentation seems to suggest that the W2000 works with this.

    Of course, if they release 1080p native games in the future, these two will make proper use of a TV's capability to accept a 1920x1080 VGA signal. However I don't think they will do this anytime soon. There is not enough point as in order to output that high a resolution signal, they would have to save on other things, like less anti-aliasing or more simple textures, and there's little point in doing that for the minority of people with 1920x1080 VGA sets.
     
  6. indie1982

    indie1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers for the explanation!

    Personally I like the look of those screen shots over VGA!

    Just got to check to see if the W2000 can do 1080p over component and i'm sorted!
     
  7. indie1982

    indie1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +4
    The manual says the 40W2000 will only do 1080i over Component, is that really the case or is 1080p unofficially supported like it is with VGA?
     
  8. salubrious_k

    salubrious_k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    You're correct there, the W2000 cannot do 1080p over component.

    In theory it can only accept 1080p over HDMI, but for some reason it takes a 1920x1080 signal over VGA from the 360 (and from a PC if you've set it up correctly to use "sync on green" or something like that - I've no clue!)
     

Share This Page

Loading...