1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1075 problem

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Stereo Steve, May 5, 2004.

  1. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    My Rotel 1075 has suffered a heavy knock and now the 2 right channels don't work. The lefts and centre work fine.

    Any ideas? I'm assuming it must be a fault on the right input section as I thought the actual amps were seperate.

    Anything I should check?
     
  2. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Maybe the fuses have blown on these two channels. If you are brave enough to take the top off and take a peek at the fuses then you could find out one way or another.

    I don't know if this would mess up any warranty. But when I had a 1075 it blew a fuse (well a couple of channels stopped working) and we swapped the fuses and it was fine afterwards.

    Maybe phone B&W as they are importers for Rotel in UK and get them to put you through to Rotel support, and see what they say.

    Steff
     
  3. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks, I've already had the top off.:D

    Are the fuses easy to get to and easy to see if they have blown? Also, what type are they and do I need to get them from anywhere special?

    I guess one could be dislodged if it's had a bump.
     
  4. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Arrgh yes easy to spot and to replace... Check what they say on them.

    I got replacements from Maplins either order online or get from a lcoal store. I really cannot remember the strength will ahve to check online I was thinking something like 6.3a "slow-blow" or "time-lag" whatever you want to call them.

    Sorry got that wrong, these were for a RMB 991 not a 1075 so might be different strength for the 1075. So check the 1075 I would guess they might be a bit smaller.

    But you will have no trouble spotting the fuses.

    Steff
     
  5. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    THanks again. I think I have found the problem though. I took the top off again and the rear input connector has 2 gold legs which attatch it to the board. These have been snapped off their solder points.

    Looks like a simple repair for someone able. I'm not going to do it myself as I'm not confident enough with the soldering iron.

    Any idea who would repair such a thing? I guess I'll get hold of B&W for further advice.

    Bit of a releif though if that's the only damage.
     
  6. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Contact details for Rotel are:-

    Rotel Europe
    Dale Road
    Worthing
    West Sussex
    BN11 2BH
    01903 221763
    E-mail: info@roteleurope.com

    I'd try phoning them, they might know someone closer to you that would do it so you don't have to send it off, as postage on a 1075 won't be cheap :)

    Steff
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,534
    any decent electrical engineer could perform a task like that.

    Try www.maydale.co.uk

    I know the guy personally, and can fix anything from the board up.
     
  8. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks guys,

    I've emailed Rotel to see if there is an authorized repair centre down here in the SW.
     
  9. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    Steve,

    I suggest from a cost point of view that you find a local electronics repair shop. They will be well capable of the repair and about 1/3 of the price of an authorised dealer!
     
  10. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeah, well I'm figuring in my part of the world the local electrical shop may well be the authorised repairer. I think it needs a new part that's all. The actual legs on the socket are broken clean off and I don't fancy someone thinking a bit of wire will do. I would also like it to be given a quick check over to make sure nothing else has been damaged.
     

Share This Page

Loading...