1024 x 720 plasma display will it work

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by djcla, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. djcla

    djcla
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +601
    and show HD media files via a media PC? Will I get a widescreen resolution from the PC etc.?
     
  2. djcla

    djcla
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +601
    anyone?
     
  3. ChrisOH

    ChrisOH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes I think you will. But if you want more help then you might want to provide a litttle information about what you are trying to achieve and how.

    Chris
     
  4. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    As with most things 'media pc', you might if everything works. You will need a reasonable level of pc literacy to get everything looking ok, and of course unless we have your screen and pc hardware, we can't give a definitive answer.
     
  5. djcla

    djcla
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +601
    Looking at the panasonic 37" px60 and before I buy wanted to make sure i could connect a media PC to it which I have not brought yet...
     
  6. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,086
    The nvidia drivers will allow you to select 1024 x 720 as a custom resolution, so providing the panel accepts that via a VGA/DVI/HDMI input you should get 1:1 pixel mapping OK and no reason why it shouldn't produce very good results.
     
  7. avanzato

    avanzato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +83
    1024 x 720 is an unusual resolution that I don't see in my ATI list of extended resolutions. Also it nearly 4:3 so you'll probably end up with the rectangular pixels problem in Windows, ie. the PC's pixels are square and the Plasma has rectangular pixels.
     
  8. djcla

    djcla
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +601
    Anyone got any experience with the 37" PV500 ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...