100Mbit/s broadband speeds offered by fibre-optics

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by @@@@, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. @@@@

    @@@@
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    http://www.pocket-lint.co.uk/news/news.phtml/12202/13226/bt-fibre-optic-100mb-broadband.phtml

    10 January 2008 15:17 GMT - Want lighting fast broadband in your home? Then you need to move to Ebbsfleet in Kent.

    Lucky home-owners moving into the new 1,000 acre site in the "Garden of England" will get access to fibre-optic cable for their broadband rather than the standard copper wiring giving them broadband speeds upto 100Mbit/s.

    Approximately 10,000 homes at Ebbsfleet Valley, along with six million sq. ft of commercial space and three million sq ft of retail, leisure and community facilities will have access to the cabling being provided by BT.
     
  2. JonRushton

    JonRushton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    And im sure the powers that be will allow people to use the full 100mbit/s... Most likly be capped and increasingly high monthly prices as the speed increases to the point of insanity :suicide:
     
  3. wywywywy

    wywywywy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +68
    Tried fibre optic broadband (gigabit ethernet connection) a few weeks ago in my mate's apartment in Hong Kong.
    Its crazy!!!

    Its about £180 or so a month plus some hefty initial setup fees.
     
  4. PAH

    PAH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +63
    It may be worth having if the contention ratio is low. If they're sharing it between 10,000 homes, it'll be slower than dialup! Though in the t&cs you won't be covered against that, just like most ISPs don't commit to a minimum connection speed.

    If they do deliver on their marketing hype, I wonder how much a couple hundred miles of cat5 cable costs? I'm sure no-one would notice if I run one up the side of the M6. :D
     
  5. Moosh

    Moosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,004
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +469
    I wonder if they'll cap it to 512KB downloads (fair usage policy) if it ever becomes available in the UK?! :D

    Cheers
    Moosh
     
  6. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +368
    I hope you are joking, with a maximum effective distance of 100 / 105 metres.....

    100 meg broadband is already available in the UK, you just need to finance 64 or so bonded SDSL lines and installation / management!
     
  7. Mac User

    Mac User
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +309
    Wow thats fast.. And I thought my up to 8mb service was fast :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...