1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

100hz problems

Discussion in 'TVs' started by ricke, May 22, 2002.

1. ricke

ricke

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been thinking about getting a 100hz set but browsing the boards i get the feeling that there are some problems out there.

I'm a novice to this, but I would of thought the picture would be better on a 100 hz set ? higher frequency (higher number ;))

Can anyone explain why this it not the case or how the problems (artefacts:confused: :confused: )etc occur ?

Thanks and regards

RickE

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I understand it, it's like computers.

100hz is better than 50hz. It's faster.

If you had a choice - would you buy a Pentium 50 or a Pentium 100?

3. ricke

ricke

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    the bigger the better ;) ;) ...........that's what I thought.......but I think there maybe more to it.....any techies out there to explain it ?

Thanks and Regards

RickE

4. bob007

bob007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    50/100htz refresh rates.

Not a techie, but know...

If you are susceptible to the 50htz flicker you will benefit from a 100htz set

Most of the artifacts that get mentioned are misconstrued, as it's the quality of the braodcasts that are crap and the owners switching on all the digital enhancements the set offers.

Have had 100htz sets for for a number of years and find i have no problem with artifacts, through Sky digital/ DVD.

bob

5. ricke

ricke

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What exactly is an "artifact ??" Is it when a picture goes blocky in some areas (like it does on my digital camcorder sometimes) ??
    and are there different types of artifacts ??