100Hz or not....?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by julian.roberts, Sep 17, 2007.

Tags:
  1. julian.roberts

julian.roberts

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thinking (perhaps niavely) that I could decide between two 1080p LCD TVs (Sony KDL40W2000 and the Samsung LE40M86BD) I ventured forth to my local retailer with my wallet (and best internet prices).

Having then struggled to find a salesman with any sense of objectivity and a sound knowledge of the market, I enentually got thrown an unpected curve-ball, 100Hz or not 100Hz.

Returning home with credit card in tact I found this forum and the HDVTest site. Having read the reviews for the W2000, M86 - and then the Sony D3000 and Samsung F86, I am just plain confused.

Thinking ahead, I have come to the view that 1080p should be the way to go. But, what of 100Hz. Is is a fad or a must-have? Has it been better implemented by Sony or Samsung...?

As you can tell I'm a bit of a novice, so would really appreciate any comments from the many 'experts' that contribute to this forum.

Many thanks

2. nitro23456

nitro23456
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    100hz is a massive improvement for motion such as sport and fast moving movies.

I would advise to go for it. what store and where did you view?

3. Nielo TM

Nielo TM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +549
    100/120Hz processing does work wonders if done correctly. Thankfully, you can disable it in Samsung and Sony range.

PS: You only need to enable it when viewing full motion detail (50 or 60i/p) contents.

4. julian.roberts

julian.roberts

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nitro