1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1 Terabyte external HDD

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by HMHB, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,754
  2. dannyc

    dannyc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks great, I have had the 500gb version for 6 months and it works perfectly.

    Dan
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    More to the point I wonder what use this is going to be. :D
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,754
    I think it would be useful for people who want their entire DVD collection and music collection on their comptuer. It's a shame though that it hasn't got an ethernet link.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Sorry, meant to add a :D but hit Send by mistake .. I could see myself perhaps using one for ripped DVDs and CDs too. :)
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I'm wary of storing all my data on 1 disk after having lost a few drives.
    Luckily I had backups and so didn't lose any data.
    I prefer to have smaller drives and duplicate them just in case.
    I wonder how long it will be before dual redundancy servers become commonplace in the home...?
     
  7. TEK

    TEK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. cskates

    cskates
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    You could build a mini-ITX based computer in a SFF case, stick 4x300GB drives in it in RAID-5, an extra IDE card (one drive per channel in case a channel fails) and a gigabit ethernet card. I'm considering building one of these with 4x160GB drives since they're pretty cheap, 1/2TB of RAID-5 server for £400-450 - around the same price as the Lacie.
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,754
    That's what I was thinking - is there room inside these SFF cases for 4 hard disks ?
     
  10. cskates

    cskates
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    This case can take 4 drives, all the others I've seen can only take 2 or 3 drives.
     
  11. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +288
    I think a shuttle would have trouble booting with 4 hard drives due to the puny PSU. It is still viable with a small ATX with a decent PSU though.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  12. m@rk

    m@rk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +360
    Just how are you going to back that up without spending stupid money on a tape drive?
     
  13. Orbital

    Orbital
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

    Most of my network storage is via a Sun SSA 101 (various RAID 5 0+1 configs) connected via fibre to my Sun ultra 10 and then shared via Samba over the network to various PC's. All works pretty well really. The drives are either 18gb or 36gb, about 600gb in total.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. ukfatboy

    ukfatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    orbital , that has to be the most insane thing i've ever seen in a home setup. totally in awe !

    I tend to agree that a drive failure would concern me. what i want is a 4TB solution that is RAID and a backup solution that is really really cheap, i suppose one day i will find something on ebay.

    regards
     
  15. Orbital

    Orbital
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers mate

    The SSA was a steal off eBay for about £100, just populated it with drives as times gone by. I think the most expensive part was the fibre PCI card for the Ultra 10 (about £120) again off eBay. Then again still a lot cheaper than it's original £1200 asking price! :D
     
  16. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,754
    I think backing up would not be needed if you were to use this as a media drive for your DVD and CD collection - as you have the originals already.
    I think I must be luck, in 15 years I've never had a hard disk go down ..... Oh God why did I have to say that :suicide: :D
     
  17. TEK

    TEK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh dear. We'll expect you to be in tears by the end of the week now :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...