1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1 DVD to 4 x PLASMA via COMPONENT

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by yimpster, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    h fountain of all AV knowledge,

    Any ideas on what piece of equipment i could use to send the component output of a DVD player to the component input of 4 different plasma screens?

    Obviously without any degradation of signal quality.

    Many thanks to all in advance for taking the time to read this and to those that reply.

    Adam
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    component diustribution unit see tmfsolutions and extron (can use RGBHV unit)
     
  3. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    wOW Hornydragon that was an amazingly quick response.

    Do you have any links for this?

    Cheers

    Adam
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  5. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    Fantastic - i think that's just what i need.

    Cheers again. :clap:
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have you seen the price yet?
     
  7. dave0523

    dave0523
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's why he's gone quiet! :eek:
     
  8. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    :eek: the price... 4 port is Cost is £371+VAT. Delivery is £10
    DA6 RGBHV and costs £440+VAT (the 6 port)

    Wow i guess these things are good. Are there any cheaper alternatives?

    Though it's not me that's paying the bill so i'm not too worried, but at the same time want to get the right product at the right price.

    :smashin:
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    cheaper ones just wont do it mate need good kit for this sort of stuff (whats it for anyways?)
     
  10. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    I believe it is for entertainment purposes in our new canteen. I work for a rather large cosmetics company and are currently in the process of relocating.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    not L'oreal is it? well make sure you have a decent feed (poor source and cables) will make the distribution unit useless (well waste of money). is it for TV or internal video use? (box will do RGBHV anyway so can feed a VGA type feed with correct cables)
     
  12. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    no not L'Oreal - though we are their main competitor. loads of smellies to take home to wifey.

    Apparently it'll be a regular DVD player feeding this to 4 new plasmas. No ideas on specs at present though they may turn to me for advice again..who knows.
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You could use a Kramer VGA multiplier and 3 phono to 15 pin leads. This works very well, maybe not up to extron standards, but it will be under £200. Perfectly good for the work canteen, maybe not for a £50k custom install.
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    yimpster

    You may not require a video distribution unit of any sort.

    If you choose carefully you may find the Display has the ability to Daisy Chain a signal from one Display to the next - possibly not as YUV but good enough for an 'infotainment' system.

    Consumer DVD players are not ideal in a presentation solution - no facility to 'loop' the required segment - better to look at a programmable unit. The Pioneer DVD-V7300 is our favoured solution.

    See http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail.jsp?product_id=779&taxonomy_id=43-207)

    You may be better looking at a Display with an optional plug in MPEG player .

    See http://panasonic.co.jp/pcc/products/en/vdosys/bb-s700.html)

    Or a stand alone MPEG player rather than DVD.

    Lots of options.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Joe, I know of a few consumer players that can loop a chapter. But your solution will work best, I have no doubt. Would the rgb pass through board for the 7 series Panasonic work? Though this would be expensive too, along with a PC or a scaler to make it VGA. I seem to recall this board will not do YUV.
     
  16. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Hello Maw

    Can your DVD player be programmed to recognise up to a dozen discs and play segments with frame accuracy every time and can it be powered down/up every night/morning without missing a beat :)

    The Pioneer DVD-V7300D is an excellent bit of kit - we use them in lots of applications; Museums, Visitor Centres;, Presentations suites.

    If you want a play drop me a note I have one in a flight case.

    I had just dug out the instruction manual for a TY-42TM6G Active through board a miute or so before your post and it looks to me like it will pass YUV or RGBHV - so 4 x TH-42PWD7BKJ + 4 x TY42TM6G and Adam has his single source multi screen set-up.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  17. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, and might well still be cheaper than the extron method. I do take your point on the DVD player, one I know that does chapter loop is the Marantz DV4300, which is possibly the crappiest bit of kit I've ever had the displeasure to handle.
     
  18. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for all your feedback, new ideas - and Joe thanks for your quote i've forwarded on to the man with the cheque book. Hopefully we'll be able to business in the near future :thumbsup:
     
  19. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    only using composite if i read the specs right
     
  21. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    am i right in thinking that composite is of a higher quality than component. if so - this should more than good enough PQ for our needs.

    then we could just daisy chain as suggested by joe.
     
  22. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    composite is the lowest PQ and crap, Component is far better
     
  23. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Nope, composite is two steps down in terms of quality, and should only be used if all else fails.
     
  24. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    yimpster

    You'll be better served using a Video Distribution Amp (DA) with these monitors - YUV into the DA and four YUV outputs (one to each Monitor); more cabling I'm afraid but better PQ.

    There's probably a good argument for laying in five core video cable and ensuring the DA is RGBHV compatible - that way if you wanted to revert to distributed PC signals you can simply 'adapt' the cable terminations at the LCD Monitor.

    I've not looked closely enough at the Monitor specs to see if you can get YUV into the HD15 socket (to save any messing about if you did want PC rather than YUV).

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  25. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    oops :suicide: - got that one backtofront :blush:

    guess the PQ would come out rather grainy then.

    So the best option would be to use the video distributor rather than using composite.
     
  26. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Yep mate but the extron kit may be over kill for 17" LCD's
     
  27. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    I agree - but i guess that there's not much choice really.

    It's either Extron or using composite cabling. One will be naff, the other will be overkill.

    I guess it's up to the powers that be to decide which they want.

    I've a feeling they'll opt for the DA.

    Joe i'm sending you a PM - if you could put together a formal quote and send it to me ASAP that'd be great.
     
  28. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    :lesson: I feel like i'm getting a little out of my depth - as now this project is growing. I have gone from recommending a device to now being as to do the whole lot even down to installation.

    So now i have to choose cables and connectors for these screens to be able to handle both the feed from the DVD AND each screen will be fed by it's own PC.

    Will the Extron you've recommended be able to handle the audio as well as video. I can see the Extron site specs up these DA2/4/6 RGBHV, DA6 YUV A on the same page.

    I'm unsure of the difference between RGBHV and YUV....help..!!

    As always a big thanks to all of you
     
  29. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    then no need for DA just connect each screen to its PC
     
  30. yimpster

    yimpster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    i think i may have confused you all - and i've definitely confused myself.

    Assume we have two video inputs into each screen.

    VGA will carry the PC video
    Component will carry the DVD video.
     

Share This Page

Loading...