1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1:1 pixel mapping and how do i know when i have got it

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by inzaman, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +939
    This weekend i have attempted my first hcpc build with thanks to email assistance from gary lightfoot on spec etc, well first pc build for that matter which is now complete and working. :smoke:

    I have a Sapphire Radeon 9600 connected to my Z2 via dvi-d and the plug and play recognises this as a 1280x720 device. When i play a dvd via power dvd the menu etc fills the screen completely but when the movie is playing there is a border all around the picture about 2inch by 1inch on 1:85 material, is this normal and do i have 1:1 pixel mapping or how do i know/check i have pixel mapping, thanks Inza.
     
  2. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    The border is probably overscan on the dvd image
     
  4. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +939
    Thanks guys, will have to check the link out when i get home tonight.

    If it is overscan would why would this show up via hcpc and not via dvd player, is it because the hcpc scales it properly etc.
     
  5. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,420
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,086
    Glad to hear it all went well. :)

    You often find that DVDs aren't mastered to fully fill the resolution with the image, so they don't always fit to the sides. You never see this on a tv because of the built-in overscan, and the size of the casing which holds the screen.

    If you have a copy of Avia or a test disk with overscan patterns, you'll see just how much picture a tv is hiding - up to around 15% IIRC. Digital projectors are capable of showing 100%, so you often find ragged edges etc at the sides.

    I take it the Windows desktop fills the screen fully?

    HTH

    Gary.
     
  6. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +939
    Thanks Gary, did go well, eventually :thumbsup:

    Yes Windows fills the screen completely as do the dvd menus, it was purely two 1.85:1 movies that i was playing around with yesterday that had the black border. Played around with a 2.35:1 movie today and the edges i.e left and right were fine, couldnt tell with the top and bottom with it being 2.35 so it looks like it is the overscan, will actually give Avia a try tomorrow.

    That multiregion program worked fine as well, cheers for that. Now enjoying the picture quality of hcpc, also noticed that the sound also appears a lot cleaner than my pio 757 dont know whether this is due to the fact i am using an optical lead as opposed to coaxial or due to the processing, will have to do a side by side demo over the next few days.
     
  7. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,420
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,086
    I thought my audio sounded better from htpc too, but I don't if that's what I wanted to hear (placebo) or if it was genuinly better. I don't know if there's such a thing as better pass-through with spdif from one machine to another, as it's the amp that does all the decoding. I've heard people mention jitter with optical as opposed to electrical (coax), but I've tried both and can't hear any difference to be honest. :)

    Gary.
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    I upgraded from a Pioneer 535D to Pioneer 565 and the difference over s/pdif was night and day, certainly not placebo in this case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...