1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

007 / Splinter Cell savegame with video switcher?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by leedavies, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
    Does anyone have the 007 or Splinter Cell savegame with video switcher?

    If anyone has it and could email a copy to me... just PM me.

    Thanks.
     
  2. simongwynne

    simongwynne
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    This sounds interesting, could you explain what it would allow?
     
  3. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
    It's called "soft-modding":

    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=215055

    My interest is in being able to switch the video output mode from PAL to NTSC, giving access to the HDTV output options. These work so that most PAL games will output a 480p signal, some even 720i or 1080i.

    Microsoft crippled the PAL dashboard options to remove the HDTV options due to compatibility issues in Europe/Australia at the time the console was launched. The NTSC console kept these options as HDTV was an approved standard in the US.

    However, it seems the options *are* present on a PAL console, once it is switched to output NTSC...
     
  4. simongwynne

    simongwynne
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    I actually got my xbox modded just to be able to use prog scan, so a way around that would be brilliant (if a little for me). Good luck with it.
     
  5. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Having read the "soft modding" guide I think i might give it a miss - it seems that it won't work under certain conditions - and I'm sure MS know people are doing this and might update the dash (via live) in the future to stop this???

    It /really/ hacks me off that MS disabled HD on PAL xbox's. I mean - if we want to get a good picture we either have to mod (soft or chip) or import an NTSC console. I'm seriously considering selling my PAL xbox (with games) on ebay and ordering an NTSC one. I might just about break even .... although I'll be back down to what ever games I buy with the xbox ......

    ZedZed
     

Share This Page

Loading...