Question £600 Budget

Stevie12345

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi.

I've been reading the forums for a few years but this is my first time posting.

I've only ever had soundbars but talked the wife into a 5.1.2 Atmos set up. The only speakers I could get passed her were the Kef T205 in white. They arrived last week and will look very nice fitted but I'm not sure which receiver to buy to get the best from the speakers? I have a budget of £600.

The Denon AVRX-3400 is just in budget for you:

Denon AVR-X3400H

It's well regarded and reviewed. I don't find the Denon's to be particularly 'musical' so they wouldn't be my first choice for a hi fi stereo music set-up, but for a 5.1.2 movie / tv set-up with those speakers, I think it should do a very good job.

Thanks for the suggestion, the problem I'm having is the size of most of the things I look at. The way my room is set up means it has to be on show so has to be wife friendly.

What are your thoughts on the Marantz NR1608 for my speakers? It's small and easy on the eye. My living room is only small and It will be hooked up to an LG EF950v, Fire TV, 4K BT TV and a Panasonic DMP-UB900.

Thanks for the suggestion, the problem I'm having is the size of most of the things I look at. The way my room is set up means it has to be on show so has to be wife friendly.

What are your thoughts on the Marantz NR1608 for my speakers? It's small and easy on the eye. My living room is only small and It will be hooked up to an LG EF950v, Fire TV, 4K BT TV and a Panasonic DMP-UB900.
The Marantz NR1608 has a 250 watt power supply, whereas the Denon 3400 has a 600 watt one. I would personally not think that 250 watts is adequate to power 7 speakers, and get a very good, room filling, dynamic audio experience. So, it depends on what you are hoping to achieve?

I want the best for my money but my wife won't have anything that doesn't fit with our living room. I may have to have a think about how to hide the receiver.