£500 speaker+amp+extras budget

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by JaredCE, Mar 24, 2006.

1. JaredCE

JaredCE
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive been thinking of getting some nice speakers for my PC. Ive set aside a £500 budget but would idealy like to spend a little less. I'm new to this too.

My thoughts are to go with good names/brands as i like to take care of my equipment and i can forsee myself using whatever i buy now for a good few years, with speaker equipment i could see it being 10 years if i keep it well.

I enjoy gaming and my music tastes are quite varied, from Fatboy Slim to the darker Sven Vath right up to Slayer, Guns & Roses etc etc. But i also like watching movies and perhaps one day when i get a decent job i'd quite like to upgrade to a 5.1 system but for now 2 is good enough.

Looking through town today one shop offered me £180 for B&W DM600's and £270ish for an Rotel RA-02 (is that right, sorry new to this). Now browsing on here most of you recomend using rotel and B&W together. Seven Oaks were offering £180 Wharfdale 9i (i think, i might have that wrong i think it's 9i). I'm thinking of going for a test in the next few days perhaps of both systems. My original plan was to go for B&W 601's but i don't know if i can budget them now and the 600's are looking rather tempting. I was also suggested Quad speakers at seven oaks though i don't remember the model names now.

Is what ive been offered today good choices? Can anyone recomend anything else? should i be looking at second hand stuff, especially if i can save on an amp i could then go for 601's perhaps or another brand if you think it's better.

Cheers

2. GW43

GW43

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +168